ADVANCED CONVERSION
FUNNEL OPTIMIZATION
(or, HOW TO BECOME UNBEATABLE IN ANY MARKET)
In the last 36 months we have:
!
Ryan Deiss
Founder/CEO,
DigitalMarketer.com
Invested over $15,000,000 (of our own money)
on marketing tests
Generated tens of millions of unique visitors
Sent well over a BILLION emails, and
Run approximately 3,000 split tests
!
...all in our own businesses.
WHAT MAKES
DIGITAL MARKETER
DIFFERENT?
WE ACTUALLY
DO THIS STUFF!
SHOCKING STATEMENT
THERES NO SUCH THING AS A
TRAFFIC PROBLEM
THERE ARE ONLY
OFFER PROBLEMS
THE CVO BREAKTHROUGH
This realization changed EVERYTHING
It allowed us to get unstuck and grow to the
next level
It allowed us to focus on what matters (instead of
shiny objects)
It allowed us to declare independence from
affiliates and joint ventures
And finally, it allowed us win in multiple markets
(because this blueprint is UNIVERSAL!!)
CUSTOMER VALUE
OPTIMIZATION
!
(A.K.A. FULL FUNNEL OPTIMIZATION)
Our Methodology...
THE
FIVE
THINGS
1
Tripwire
2
Core Offer
3
Profit Maximizer
4
Return Path
5
Lead Magnet
1.
LEAD
MAGNET
WHAT IS A
LEAD
MAGNET?
A small chunk of value that
solves a SPECIFIC problem
for a SPECIFIC market that is
offered in exchange for an
opt-in.
WHY LEAD
MAGNETS?
Prospects want immediate
gratification and something
they can sink their teeth into
NOW. Lead magnets give
them that...
LEAD MAGNET CHECKLIST
Offers an ultra-specific solution to an ultra-specific market
Promises one big thing (as opposed to a lot of little things)
Speaks to a known desired end result
Offers immediate gratification
(no multi-day email courses, newsletters, podcasts, etc.)
Moves prospect down a continuum of belief
Has a high perceived value
Has a high ACTUAL value (contains an Aha Moment)
Can be consumed in 5 minutes or less
BE SPECIFIC!!!
MARKET
Investors
Forex Traders
Bloggers
Single Guys
Horse Owners
Preppers
Golfers
LEAD MAGNET
Top Dividend Stocks
MetaTrader Tutorials
Appify Your Blog
The Kiss Test
Stop Cribbing
Get a 2nd Passport
10 Yards Longer
SPECIFICITY MATTERS
THIS IS NOT A LEAD MAGNET
WHATS
WRONG WITH
THIS LEAD
MAGNET?
WHATS
WRONG WITH
THIS LEAD
MAGNET?
THIS WORKED BETTER
TITLES MATTER
CASE STUDY: 50,000% MORE SALES!!
Published: 1982
!
Copies Sold: < 5000
Re-Published: 1998
!
Copies Sold:
!
OVER
2.5
MILLION!!!
SPEAKS TO A KNOWN DESIRE
RAPID CONSUMPTION
00:02:24
IMPROVE THIS LEAD MAGNET
WHAT DOES
THIS LEAD
MAGNET DO
RIGHT?
HOW WOULD
YOU IMPROVE
THIS LEAD
MAGNET?
THE PERFECT LEAD MAGNET?
DELIVERING THE LEAD MAGNET
MORE LEAD MAGNET
EXAMPLES
1. BLIND/BENEFIT-CENTRIC
2. TOOLKIT/RESOURCE LIST
FOR MORE INFO SEE: http://www.leadpages.net/how-to-bribe
CASE STUDY #1: RAPID FILTER
BEFORE:
!
# of New Prospects:
6 Per Month
CASE STUDY #1: RAPID FILTER
BEFORE:
AFTER:
# of New Prospects:
# of New Prospects:
6 Per Month
6 PER DAY!!
20X INCREASE IN
QUALIFIED LEADS!!
3. ASSESSMENT/TEST
FOR MORE INFO SEE: http://marketing.grader.com/
4. QUIZ/SURVEY
FOR MORE INFO SEE:
http://mcleangolf.revolutiongolf.com/free-death-move-analysis-tool
5. DISCOUNT/FREE SHIPPING
FOR MORE INFO SEE: http://www.mycostumewigs.com/
6. CHEAT SHEETS/HANDOUTS
7. FREE DOWNLOAD/TRIAL
FOR MORE INFO SEE: http://www.evernote.com/
LANDING PAGE TIP:
SOMETIMES LESS (COPY) IS MORE...
FOOL-STYLE LANDING PAGE
FOOL-STYLE LANDING PAGE
- Our Version -
43% OPT-IN RATE
(COLD TRAFFIC)
FEEL FREE TO GET CREATIVE
55.35% Conversion Rate
54.95% Conversion Rate
53.68% Conversion Rate
60.34% Conversion Rate
ANY QUESTIONS?
2.
THE
TRIPWIRE
WHAT IS A
TRIPWIRE?
An irresistible, super-lowticket offer that converts
prospects into BUYERS!
TRIPWIRE CHECKLIST
Low barrier to entry / impulse buy
Easy to understand and explain
Seamlessly leads to the core sale
Useful but incomplete
Has a high perceived value (find their cheese)
Has a high ACTUAL value (positive first transaction)
TRIPWIRE TYPES
1. PHYSICAL PREMIUM
2. SMALL BUT CRITICAL
3. BOOK/REPORT
FOR MORE INFO SEE:
https://www.newsmaxstore.com/nm_mag/obamacare_911b.cfm
CASE STUDY #2: SURVIVAL LIFE
List Size: 113,636 - ONE PRODUCT ($47)
TURNED A BONUS INTO A TRIPWIRE
CASE STUDY #2: SURVIVAL LIFE
List Size: 113,636 - ONE PRODUCT ($47)
$7 Sales: 9,926 in 30 Days (8% Conversion Rate!!)
2,536 bought the $47 course!!!
!
TRIPWIRE SALES:
$69,482
CORE OFFER SALES: $119,192
TOTAL SALES:
$188,674 (from a dead list)
SURVIVAL LIFE CASE STUDY
- 1000 CLICK SNAPSHOT -
BEFORE: 1.5% average conversion rate (at $47)
$705 / 1000 visitors
AFTER:
TRIPWIRE: 8% at $7 = $640 / 1000 visitors
CORE OFFER: 30% at $47 = $1,128 / 1000 visitors
TOTAL REVENUE: $1,768 / 1000 visitors
(160% INCREASE!!!)
4. WEBINAR
FOR MORE INFO SEE: http://sneakyemailtricks.com
5. SOFTWARE/PLUGIN
FOR MORE INFO SEE: http://www.freshkey.com
6. ALA CARTE SERVICE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=da9QGgKR558
CASE STUDY #3: MARKETING AGENCY
2000 attendees
603 people approached booth
87 people bought the tripwire - $20
19 converted to $500/mo. core immediate
23 more converted via phone after results
BEFORE: Average 3 new clients per show at $500/mo...
$21,300 mo. Recurring
7 Month Stick
!
$149,100
!
200 Trade Shows a Year
TRADE SHOW CASE STUDY
BEFORE: 3 clients at $500/mo ($10,500 LCV)
AFTER: 42 clients at $500/mo ($149,100 LCV)
PLUS: 87 tripwire clients that they can followup
with via the Return Path
PLUS: Tripwire sales covered booth costs ($20 x
87 = $1740)
CASE STUDY RECAP
Survival Life Case Study:
5X increase in total customers
160% IMMEDIATE Revenue Increase
Trade Show Case Study:
1437% Revenue Growth ($10,500 to $150,840)
$68,240 in IMMEDIATE Revenue
$82,600 in RETURN PATH Revenue (60 days later)
ANY QUESTIONS?
3.
CORE
OFFER
WHAT IS THE
CORE OFFER?
The core offer is the
companys flagship product
or service.
!
This is the offering they are
most known for, and most
proud of.
THE GOAL IS NOT TO OPTIMIZE
CONVERSION RATES...
THE GOAL IS TO OPTIMIZE
TOTAL REVENUE!!!
FLAWED MODEL
BIG TIP #1
NOTHING
CONVERTS
LIKE
PROOF!
PROOF TRUMPS ALL!!
20% - 80% CONVERSION RATE INCREASE!
BIG TIP #2
Sequence
Is
Cri:cal
HTTP://PERRYBELCHER.COM/21-STEP-SALESLETTER/
BIG TIP #3
Op:mize
Your
Order
Forms!
RESULTS:
CART ABANDONMENT CUT
HALF!!
(IN OTHER WORDS...SALES DOUBLED!!!)
OFFER TESTING CHECKLIST
Headline - Write 25 and test
your top 5
Product Deliverables
Graphics (if any) on top of page
Subheadline - Write 10 and test
top 3
Lead - Negative vs. Positive /
Story vs. Direct
Guarantee
Scarcity
VSL vs. Long-Form
If VSL
Voice
Speed
Volume
Background Image/Color
Autoplay vs. Click-To-Play
Last but certainly not least
Price!!!
ANY QUESTIONS?
4.
PROFIT
MAXIMIZER
WHAT IS A
Profit
MaXIMIZEr?
Whether it's an upsell (offering
someone more of what they
already bought) a cross-sell
(offering them a related
product or service) or a
subscription (offering them
access to a club, community or
association), every offer needs
something on the backend to
increase immediate average
customer value and overall
engagement with the buyer.
!
That, is the Profit Maximizer!
David Sulzer, an associate professor at Columbia University Medical Center
86
TYPES OF
PROFT
MAXIMIZERS
1. Immediate Upsells
2. Cross-Sells
3. Slack Adjusters
4. Bundles and Kits
5. Value Buckets
6. Line Extensions
7. Affiliate/CPA Offers
8. Premium Subscription
1. IMMEDIATE UPSELLS
SPEND $1.91 to get a person in the drive-thru
EARN $0.18 profit on a $2.09 burger sale
PROFIT $1.14 EXTRA on fries and Coke upsell
$1.32 Profit
(7.3 times that of the core sale)
CASE STUDY #4: CLEVELAND EQUIPMENT
CASE STUDY #4: CLEVELAND EQUIPMENT
Core Offer (Heat Sealer) - $250
40% Profit Margin - $100 per sale
Cost To Acquire (after AdWords costs) - $70
NET PROFIT = $30
Immediate Upsell (Extra Elements) - $60
100% Profit Margin (Free from the factory)
50% Take Rate = EXTRA $30 PER SALE!!!
100%
INCREASE IN PROFIT
ON JUST THAT ONE ITEM!!!
2. CROSS-SELLS
3. SLACK ADJUSTERS
EVENTS & CONSULTING
THE MAGIC QUESTION
3
Words
That
DOUBLED
Our
Business...
WANT SOME HELP?
OFFERING DONE-FOR-YOU CONSULTING
ADDED
AN
EXTRA
!
$453,000
...FROM A BASE OF JUST 1500 BUYERS!!
4. BUNDLES AND KITS
5. VALUE BUCKETS
6. LINE EXTENSIONS
7. AFFILIATE/CPA OFFERS
8. RECURRING
BILLING
$168,557.55
(a month)
$168,557.55
(a month)
...JUST BY ADDING A PREMIUM
SUBSCRIPTION OFFER TO THE
BACK OF PRODUCTS THEY WERE
ALREADY SELLING!!!
AND THE ULTIMATE FORMULA
FOR A CRAFTING A WINNING
PROFIT MAXIMIZER IS...
SPEED AND...
...AUTOMATION
1.
SPEED AND
AUTOMATION
UPSELLS
IDEAS
SOFTWARE/APPLICATION
2. DONE FOR YOU SERVICE
3. AUDIT/STRATEGY SESSION
4. PRIVATE LABELING
5. TEMPLATES/THEMES
6. SUPPLEMENTS
7.
EQUIPMENT/TOOLS
5.
RETURN
PATH
WHAT IS
RETURN
PATH?
Thanks to the lead magnet offer, we
now have the ability to go back to
non-buyers and put them into a
followup series to increase initial
conversions.
!
Equallyimportant, we also have the
ability to go back to our buyers who
didn't purchase everything in the sales
funnel (i.e. tripwire, core offer and
profit maximizer) to increase the
average customer value and overall
buyer frequency.
RETURN
PATH
1. CONSTANT STRATEGIC
COMMUNICATION
2. AUTOMATED FOLLOWUP
3. BANNER RETARGETING
4. CUSTOM AUDIENCE
MARKETING
1. CONSTANT
COMMUNICATION
IF YOU ARENT BROADCASTING YOUR
EMAIL LIST AT LEAST ONCE A WEEK
YOU OBVIOUSLY HATE MONEY!!!
BUT ITS NOT JUST EMAIL
2. AUTOMATED FOLLOWUP
3. BANNER RETARGETING
BANNER RETARGETING NETWORKS
Google AdWords Retargeting
AdRoll.com
Retargeter.com
Fetchback.com
Chango.com
PerfectAudience.com (Facebook)
4. CUSTOM AUDIENCE
CASE STUDY #5: SKIN CARE PRODUCT
List Size: 36,000
Launching a new skin care product
Ran FB Custom Audience to half the list (18,000)
!
COLD LEADS:
$2,563
PRE-SEASONED LEADS: $8,839
SALES INCREASE OF...
$6,276
FACEBOOK AD COST $238.13
Whole List Result?
$12,000+
SOUND HARD?
SOUND COMPLICATED?
IT IS...AND THATS WHY
YOU WILL WIN!
ANY QUESTIONS?