Digital Marketing
Digital Marketing
SYLLABUS
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[Link] III Year Subject- Digital Marketing
UNIT I
Marketing
Marketing is not about promotion or advertising only. Marketing is a complex topic or a concept
which is used to make a comprehensive plan of action or a strategy to increase sell, create
awareness about brands and products etc.
In very simple terms “Marketing means communicating the RIGHT message, to the RIGHT
people using RIGHT medium.”
Marketing plays a major role in creating awareness about a business, increasing customer base,
growing sales and building brand. Marketing is one of the most important parts of any business
and without effective marketing, growing business becomes almost impossible.
Traditional Marketing
Digital marketing
Digital Marketing
45, Anurag Nagar, Behind Press Complex, Indore (M.P.) Ph.: 4262100, [Link]
[Link] III Year Subject- Digital Marketing
Digital marketing is all about promoting business using digital channels like Internet, website,
blogs, social media platforms, video marketing, mobile marketing, email marketing and the list is
huge…
Digital marketing is not new. It’s been around since the Internet started. Now digital marketing is
becoming popular due to the increase in internet users, mobile phone users and digital content
consumption.
TRADITIONAL MARKETING
3. Campaign in Traditional marketing takes more time as designing, preparing, and launching
are involved.
DIGITAL MARKETING
2. Medium of communication is more powerful and involves social media websites, chats, apps
and Email.
3. Digital marketing campaigns can be developed quite rapidly and with digital
tools, channelizing Digital Marketing campaigns is easier.
5. Digital Marketing lets you measure the effectiveness of a digital marketing campaign through
analytics
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[Link] III Year Subject- Digital Marketing
In digital marketing, a reporting and analytics engine can be layered within a campaign which
allows the organization or brand to monitor in real-time how a campaign is performing, such as
what is being viewed, how often, how long, as well as other actions such as response rates and
purchases made.
The use of digital marketing in the digital era not only allows for brands to market their
products and services but also offers online customer support through 24x7 services to
make the customer feel supported and valued.
The use of social media in digital marketing interaction allows brands to receive both
positive and negative feedback from their customers as well as determine what media
platforms work well for them.
Digital marketing provides increased advantage for brands and businesses. It is now
common for consumers to post feedback online through social media sources, blogs,
and websites about their experience with a product or brand.
Visibility
Visibility is any type of product or services to reach more people to aware of your product or
service.
The more visibility you have your brand so that the more chances you have to bring a new
customer to your product or services.
They are getting the awareness of the product or services what you are providing to them.
If you want to increase brand visibility online you should know these are the basics way to
improve the online presence of your product or service. There are 9 ways to increase your brand
visibility online.
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[Link] III Year Subject- Digital Marketing
Types of Visibility
There are several platforms that will allow you to get the paid and organic visibility that your
business needs. These include:
Social media
Websites
Links
Reviews
Landing pages
Directories
If you do those things that increase online visibility here is what you should see.
1. Your website will rank for both commercial and non-commercial keywords
2. The number of searches for which your website appears in search results will increase
3. Your content will be getting shared on social media and with the right promotion,
acquiring links to your website
4. Your rankings for all keywords should move upward over time
5. Your traffic from search engines will increase as the site becomes more visible
6. Given the increase in targeted traffic the number of people entering your online
marketing funnel should increase
7. And if you are good at converting your increased inquiries your sales should also be
increasing.
Example of Visibility
Visitor engagement
Visitors Engagement confirms where the users would find any value in your services or products
offered by you or by your Company (Organisation).
If you want to reach the customer or getting closer to you client can be easily achieved
by User Engagement.
Driving User Engagement allows you to encourage your clients to share as well as
interact with your brands or products offered by you.
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[Link] III Year Subject- Digital Marketing
With a very good user engagement website will increase your company growth and
prospective.
So far we have seen what user engagement is, now let us see visitor engagement with
respect to Digital Marketing.
Your customer engagement on websites should be optimized, if you do not optimize your
website you will end up losing lot of money. Or you would have spent too much of time
while creating to your content.
Only just creating loads and loads of content won’t make you encourage more engaged
visitors or won’t convert your content to profit.
Whatever the content you showcasing should have a definite meaning. Main objective is
about your readers must feel engaged and start subscribing your emails list. This can be
achieved by getting the product and services or downloading your content.
If your users won’t engage with your content they will not buy the product or services or
subscribe it.
So here every piece of your content must be converted to build profit for your organisation.
Web-Site speed
Content flow
Targeted Traffic
Targeted Traffic consists of preselected visitors arriving at a website who have already
expressed an interest in the site's subject. The opposite would be a visitor randomly or
accidentally arriving at a site basically looking for something else.
45, Anurag Nagar, Behind Press Complex, Indore (M.P.) Ph.: 4262100, [Link]
[Link] III Year Subject- Digital Marketing
Digital marketing targeting is a formalized method that identifies and then intentionally aims
created content, connections and the use of platforms toward a specific demographic,
psychographic and/or geographic audience, their needs and concerns
Inbound
Website content
Search engine optimization (SEO)
Blog content
Video content
Social media posts
White papers
eBooks
Surveys, studies and analyst reports
Webinars
Outbound
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Outbound marketing on the other hand starts with some basic knowledge of your target audience
and builds programs to educate those very specific prospects about your products and services in
a meaningful way. Outbound marketing typically is accomplished using the more traditional ways
such as direct mail, telemarketing, email marketing and events.
Cold emailing
Cold calling
Direct mail
Events
Display ads
Press releases
The difference between inbound and outbound marketing is subtle and often the lines between the
two are blurred. For example, an inbound marketing program can be utilized as the first step in a
long-term marketing campaign to capture lead data; whereas a related outbound portion would be
used to nurture and educate those prospects to the point where they are ready to make a buying
decision. Together they create a sustainable, long-term program that can produce a continuous
stream of sales opportunities.
A conversion occurs when a visitor to your website completes a desired goal, such as filling out a
form or making a purchase. The percentage of total visitors that convert is called your conversion
rate. Depending on your site's or business's goals, conversion types might include:
Online sales
Leads
Email signups
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[Link] III Year Subject- Digital Marketing
Form completions
In order to track conversions, conversion rate, and cost per conversion, you need to make sure to
use conversion tracking.
Conversion rate optimization, or CRO, is the process of improving your conversion rate. A/B
testing or split testing is one of the techniques used to test and monitor the conversion
performance of different landing pages or ads. It helps to identify which elements on your ads and
pages optimize your online conversion rate. For example, you might test different headlines,
buttons, calls to action, or images on your landing pages to see which variations lead to more
conversions.
Retention
Retention marketing is a new form of marketing that is becoming more and more prevalent in the
ecommerce world. The focus of this school of marketing is to create engaged customers that return
to your store to shop again. It is a shift in focusing only on the acquisition of countless new
customers, to also focusing on the profitability of those you already have!
The activities a store uses to increase the likelihood of a customer purchasing again, while focusing
on increasing the profitability of each repeat purchase.
Retention is your store’s defense and acquisition is your offense, play both to truly dominate the
game!
Types of retention
1) Redefine how you measure customer value. Customer acquisition is easy to measure.
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[Link] III Year Subject- Digital Marketing
Retention rate is the percentage of a school's first-time, first-year undergraduate students who
continue at that school the next year. For example, a student who studies full-time in the fall
semester and keeps on studying in the program in the next fall semester is counted in this rate.
Retention equals number of employees who stayed for the whole time period* divided by the
number of employees you had at the start of the time period. We then multiply the result by 100 to
get our retention rate
Tools needed
When it comes to digital marketing, few things are as important as the tools digital marketers rely
on to get their jobs done. These include everything from social media platforms like Facebook and
Instagram to analytics tools like Google Analytics. Allowing marketers to create, test and measure
the performance of their campaigns, digital marketing tools ensure that marketers can launch and
test campaigns quickly and effectively.
45, Anurag Nagar, Behind Press Complex, Indore (M.P.) Ph.: 4262100, [Link]
[Link] III Year Subject- Digital Marketing
UNIT II
Internet
Internet is defined as an Information super Highway, to access information over the web. However, It can be defined in
many ways as follows:
For example, a DNS server will resolve a name [Link] to a particular IP address to uniquely
identify the computer on which this website is hosted.
Evolution
The concept of Internet was originated in 1969 and has undergone several technological & Infrastructural changes as
discussed below:
The origin of Internet devised from the concept of Advanced Research Project Agency Network (ARPANET).
Basic purpose of ARPANET was to provide communication among the various bodies of government.
In 1972, the ARPANET spread over the globe with 23 nodes located at different countries and thus became known
as Internet.
By the time, with invention of new technologies such as TCP/IP protocols, DNS, WWW, browsers, scripting
languages etc.,Internet provided a medium to publish and access information over the web.
45, Anurag Nagar, Behind Press Complex, Indore (M.P.) Ph.: 4262100, [Link]
[Link] III Year Subject- Digital Marketing
Advantages
Internet covers almost every aspect of life, one can think of. Here, we will discuss some of the advantages of Internet:
Facebook
Twitter
Yahoo
Google+
Flickr
Apart from communication and source of information, internet also serves a medium for entertainment.
Following are the various modes for entertainment over internet.
Online Television
Online Games
Songs
Videos
Social Networking Apps
Internet Banking
Matrimonial Services
Online Shopping
Online Ticket Booking
Online Bill Payment
Data Sharing
E-mail
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[Link] III Year Subject- Digital Marketing
Internet provides concept of electronic commerce, that allows the business deals to be conducted on
electronic systems
Disadvantages
However, Internet has proved to be a powerful source of information in almost every field, yet there exists many
disadvanatges discussed below:
Another disadvantage is
the [Link] corresponds to
the unwanted e-mails in bulk. These e-mails
serve no purpose and lead to obstruction of
entire system.
Also a biggest threat on internet is pornography. There are many pornographic sites that can be found, letting
your children to use internet which indirectly affects the children healthy mental life.
There are various websites that do not provide the authenticated information. This leads to misconception
among many people.
1. The Internet:
In simplest words it is a global network of smaller networks interconnected using communication protocols that
are standardised. The Internet standards describe a framework known as the Internet protocol suite. This model
divides methods into a layered system of protocols.
1. Application layer (highest) – concerned with the data(URL, type, etc), where HTTP,
HTTPS, etc comes in.
2. Transport layer – responsible for end-to-end communication over a network.
3. Network layer – provides data route.
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[Link] III Year Subject- Digital Marketing
Provides a variety of information and communication facilities; contains forums, databases, email, hypertext, etc. It
consists of private, public, academic, business, and government networks of local to global scope, linked by a broad
array of electronic, wireless, and optical networking technologies.
The web is a subset of the internet. It’s a system of Internet servers that support specially formatted documents. The
documents are formatted in a markup language called HTML (that supports links, multimedia, etc). These documents
are interlinked using hypertext links and are accessible via the Internet.
INTERNET WEB
Internet is the library and web a collection of books. Web is a subset of the internet. The web is a
The internet also consists of databases, email, forums, large portion of the internet but it isn’t all of it.
etc.
The internet is a network, a way of transporting The Web is ideally a way of accessing
content and web lets us use that content. information over the medium of the Internet.
Web is a collection of internet servers that can
host HTML formatted documents. A collection
of pages, of information connected to each
other around the globe. Each page can be a
combination of text and multimedia.
Website
Website is a location on web and is hosted on a web server. It is a set of related web pages. It is accessed using Internet
address known as Uniform Resource Locator
Static Websites
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Static websites are also known as flat or stationary websites. They are loaded on the client’s browser as exactly they
are stored on the web server. Such websites contain only static information. User can only read the information but
can’t do any modification or interact with the information.
Static websites are created using only HTML. Static websites are only used when the information is no more required
to be modified.
Dynamic Websites
Dynamic websites shows different information at different point of time. It is possible to change a portion of a web
page without loading the entire web page. It has been made possible using Ajax technology.
It is created by using server-side scripting. There are server-side scripting parameters that determine how to assemble
a new web page which also include setting up of more client-side processing.
It is processed using client side scripting such as javascript. And then passed in to Document Object Model (DOM).
Domain name
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[Link] III Year Subject- Digital Marketing
A domain name is the part of your Internet address that comes after "www". For example, in [Link] the
domain name is [Link].
A domain name becomes your Business Address so care should be taken to select a domain name. Your domain name
should be easy to remember and easy to type.
When you plan to put a site online, this is one of the important steps to buy a domain name. This is always not
necessary that whatever domain name you are looking that is available so in that case you will have to opt for any
other good domain name.
When you buy a domain name it is registered and when domain names are registered they are added to a large domain
name register, and information about your site − including your Internet IP address is stored on a DNS server and your
contact information etc. is registered with your registrar.
You can buy domain name from any domain registrar like GoDaddy
There are many types of domain extensions you can choose for your domain name. This depends on your business
nature.
For example, if you are going to register a domain name for education purpose then you can choose .edu extension.
Below is a reference of the correct usage of certain extensions. But there is no hard and fast rule to go for any
extension. Most commonly used is .com
.com − Stands for company/commercial, but it can be used for any website.
.net − Stands for network and is usually used for a network of sites.
.us, .in − They are based on your country names so that you can go for country specific domain
extensions
.biz − A newer extension on the Internet and can be used to indicate that this site is purely related to
business.
.info − Stands for information. This domain name extension can be very useful, and as a new comer it's
doing well.
.tv − Stands for Television and are more appropriate for TV channel sites.
Newer domain extensions such as .biz .info and .us etc. have more name choices available as many of the popular
domains have yet to be taken and most of the them are available at very nominal prices.
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[Link] III Year Subject- Digital Marketing
Web server
Every Website sits on a computer known as a Web server. This server is always connected to the internet. Every Web
server that is connected to the Internet is given a unique address made up of a series of four numbers between 0 and
255 separated by periods. For example, [Link] or [Link].
When you register a web address, also known as a domain name, such as [Link] you have to specify the IP
address of the Web server that will host the site. You can load up with Dedicated Servers that can support your web-
based operations.
This is the most popular web server in the world developed by the Apache Software Foundation. Apache web server is
an open source software and can be installed on almost all operating systems including Linux, Unix, Windows,
FreeBSD, Mac OS X and more. About 60% of the web server machines run the Apache Web Server.
The Internet Information Server (IIS) is a high performance Web Server from Microsoft. This web server runs on
Windows NT/2000 and 2003 platforms ( and may be on upcoming new Windows version also). IIS comes bundled
with Windows NT/2000 and 2003; Because IIS is tightly integrated with the operating system so it is relatively easy to
administer it.
lighttpd
The lighttpd, pronounced lighty is also a free web server that is distributed with the FreeBSD operating system. This
open source web server is fast, secure and consumes much less CPU power. Lighttpd can also run on Windows, Mac OS
X, Linux and Solaris operating systems.
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This web server from Sun Microsystems is suited for medium and large websites. Though the server is free it is not
open source. It however, runs on Windows, Linux and Unix platforms. The Sun Java System web server supports
various languages, scripts and technologies required for Web 2.0 such as JSP, Java Servlets, PHP, Perl, Python, Ruby on
Rails, ASP and Coldfusion etc.
Jigsaw Server
Jigsaw (W3C's Server) comes from the World Wide Web Consortium. It is open source and free and can run on various
platforms like Linux, Unix, Windows, Mac OS X Free BSD etc. Jigsaw has been written in Java and can run CGI scripts
and PHP programs.
Web hosting
Web hosting deals with putting the contents of your website on a Web server. Hosting your website on your own
server could be an option. But this will become very much expensive unless you are hosting a site like [Link] or
[Link]
Buying a server space or renting a complete server from an Internet Service Provider (ISP) is the most widely used
option. This section guides you to choose a hosting type and makes you aware of other related concepts.
Hosting Platforms
You can go for any of the following two most widely used hosting platforms −
Windows Hosting Servers − If you are a Windows lover then you will find many hosting servers
running different flavors of Windows and you can buy space from these servers. Normally Windows
hosting servers are more expensive because of lot of software licensing costs are involved with these
servers.
Linux Hosting Servers − If you want to go for Linux then opportunities are unlimited and they will
have to pay less then what you will pay for Windows Hosting Server. There are many ISP who provides
Hosting Servers with different flavors of Unix.
Hosting Types
There are many options available and you can select any hosting type based on your requirement and budget.
Following are most widely used hosting types −
Free Hosting
Yes, this is true there are many service providers who will give you free space on their web server with a condition that
you will allow them to run their advertisement at your web pages. So if you are OK with this option, then you have
nothing to pay for a space. There are some websites like [Link], [Link], [Link], etc. that give you space
to build your web pages.
Shared Hosting
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With shared hosting, your website is hosted on a powerful server along with other websites. On a shared host, you will
have your own user ID and password to login to the shared host and you will be allowed to work in your work area.
You would not be able to touch any file or directory belonging to other host partner. Even you would not know how
many sites are hosted on your shared host. This type of hosting is very cost effective and good for small websites where
your space and speed are not very important. Here traffic on one site will affect the speed of all other hosted sites.
This type of hosting is better for medium size business. With virtual dedicated hosting, you will have a dedicated
bandwidth and dedicated RAM for your site. You will be given a root ID and password to maintain your Web server.
You will be the complete owner of your virtual dedicated server and will be able to install or de-install any software.
This type of hosting is created on a single server, but it is managed in such a way that every user will have dedicated
speed and bandwidth. This is bit more expensive but really good one for medium size business.
Dedicated Hosting
This type of hosting is very similar to virtual dedicated hosting, but here, a complete machine will be allotted for you.
They are more expensive than virtual dedicated hosting and should be considered when you have a very high traffic
requirement.
Collocated Hosting
It is very difficult to set dedicated resources such as high-security against fire and vandalism, regulated backup power,
dedicated Internet connections and more. Collocation is the option which allows you to put your machine in a service
provider's premises to avail all the available facilities. This is also a very expensive option and should be opted when
you have very high traffic requirement.
Hosting Components
When you buy a Web server space, then you should be clear about the follows. You should do a price comparison
between different service providers based on the following components −
Disc Space
A small or medium website will require between 10 and 100MB of disk space. If you plan to keep a lot of audio and
video on your website, then you need plan to buy more space. Before buying server space, you should check the
options available to expand your disc space if you need it in future.
Monthly Traffic
A small or medium website will need between 1GB and 10GB of data transfer on a monthly basis. If you plan to keep a
lot of audio and video on your website, then you need a plan with more data transfer capacity. Check different options
based on your requirements. What are the other options available in case you cross the given data transfer limit. Your
site should not be stopped in case you exceed given limit.
Processing Speed
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If you are buying space on a shared machine, then you cannot guess how much speed will be given to you. In that case,
only way is to see other hosted sites with the same service provider to know about their hosting quality. But if you are
buying virtual dedicated server or dedicated server, then you should consider how much RAM is being allocated to you.
Your pricing will depend on the given processing power to you.
Connection Speed
Nowadays, most service providers allow very fast connection speed. So choose a service provider who is giving better
connection speed in terms of bits per second. You can have a connection speed ranging from 64Kb per second to
2.488Gb per second.
Email Accounts
Make sure you are going to get sufficient number of e-mail accounts. There are many other options available which
come along with your e-mail account. Like, will you get IMAP, POP and E-mail Forwarding options available along with
your e-mail facilities.
Emailing Support
Apart form having email accounts, it is also very important that your web server should have a facility to send emails
from back-end. In case your site visitors want to contact to you using a form, then you will be able to use that emailing
facility to send emails to your designated account. In simple terms, you should make sure that the SMTP Server is setup
and working on your Web server.
Latest Technologies
You should make sure that your web server is equipped with all the latest technologies. It should have the latest
version support for PHP, PERL, ASP and JAVA, etc.
Databases
There are many databases available MySQL, Oracle, SQL Server, etc. You should choose your server based on your
database requirement. If you are buying space on a shared server, then you need to verify how much space will be
allocated for your database. Many ISPs do not give more than a limited space for databases. If your site needs a lot of
database size, then you should go for a virtual dedicated server.
Server Uptime
It is important that you buy a web server from a reliable and reputed ISP. You should make sure your ISP is giving you
99.99% server uptime. If the is server down, then there are many service providers who gives you compensation in
case your sites goes down more than a limited number of time.
Make sure your Service Provider is giving you more ways of taking regular backup of your website. If your site is
changing everyday, then it becomes very important that you should take regular backup of your website. Many service
providers do it on your behalf by charging a small cost for this service.
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[Link] III Year Subject- Digital Marketing
Control Panel
Just make sure what type of facilities you will get to maintain your hosting account. Check if your service provider is
providing you an easy-to-use Control Panel or some other similar tool. Using a Control Panel, you should be able to
maintain basic operations related to your website such as logging your service request, your reboot request, or any
other problem.
Customer Support
Before finalizing a deal with your service provider, you should make sure they provide you the required support. You
can get this information using Internet forums or from your friends. There are many service providers who give you
24x7 support for any technical or non-technical problem.
Web design is a process of conceptualization, planning, modeling, and execution of electronic media content delivery
via Internet in the form of technologies (such as markup languages) suitable for interpretation and display by a web
browser or other web-based graphical user interfaces (GUIs).
The intent of web design is to create a web site (a collection of electronic files residing on one or more web servers)
that presents content (including interactive features or interfaces) to the end user in the form of web pages once
requested. Such elements as text, forms, and bit-mapped images (GIFs, JPEGs, PNGs) can be placed on the page using
HTML, XHTML, or XML tags. Displaying more complex media (vector graphics, animations, videos, sounds) requires
plug-ins such as Flash, QuickTime, Java run-time environment, etc.
Plug-ins are also embedded into web pages by using HTML or XHTML tags. Improvements in the various browsers'
compliance with W3C standards prompted a widespread acceptance of XHTML and XML in conjunction with Cascading
Style Sheets (CSS) to position and manipulate web page elements. The latest standards and proposals aim at leading to
the various browsers' ability to deliver a wide variety of media and accessibility options to the client possibly without
employing plug-ins.
• Static pages don’t change content and layout with every request unless a human (web master or
programmer) manually updates the page.
• Dynamic pages adapt their content and/or appearance depending on the end-user’s input or interaction or
changes in the computing environment (user, time, database modifications, etc.)
Content can be changed on the client side (end-user's computer) by using client-side scripting languages (JavaScript,
JScript, Actionscript, media players and PDF reader plug-ins, etc.) to alter DOM elements (DHTML). Dynamic content is
often compiled on the server utilizing server-side scripting languages (PHP, ASP, Perl, Coldfusion, JSP, Python, etc.).
Both approaches are usually used in complex applications. With growing specialization within communication design
and information technology fields, there is a strong tendency to draw a clear line between web design specifically for
web pages and web development for the overall logistics of all webbased services.
45, Anurag Nagar, Behind Press Complex, Indore (M.P.) Ph.: 4262100, [Link]
[Link] III Year Subject- Digital Marketing
An effective business website must be flexible enough to scale up or scale down (quickly add and/or subtract new
pages) and update its content (change ads, change promotions, change prices, and so on). The way to do this is to rely
on just a handful of page templates — such as a category page, a landing page, and a detail page — and populate them
dynamically with appropriate content that resides in a database.
For example, if a user is browsing an online store and visits the Gardening section, the single category-page template
displays the images and text and any promotions associated with the Gardening department. If the user visits the Home
Décor section next, that same category page template updates with the new content.
The real task for this online store example, therefore, is managing the content that resides in the database. The
company database must allow effortless access and fast updates — on a daily, if not hourly, basis. Of course, databases
don’t have the friendliest of interfaces — so websites often have a middle layer between them and their databases
called a content management system, or CMS for short.
A CMS is often a separate, secure website that only administrators have access to. An administrator logs in to the web-
based CMS, makes changes to the content, and pushes the updated content to where it has to go: either to a staging
server (a private preview website where the company can verify the information) or to the live main site. A successful
CMS interface is neatly organized and easy to use, which empowers a team of non-technical people (such as brand
managers and product managers) to manage their content efficiently.
There are a lot of factors to consider that drive what type of content management system is right for the new site. Some
factors to consider are as follows:
Platform: What development platform is the site being built on? And here are a couple of related
questions: What databases are you drawing content from, and where is the site being hosted? Can the
CMS you’re considering integrate well with all these technical factors?
Language: Should the website support multiple countries and languages? Will administrators around
the world need to manage translated content and custom products — and the accompanying imagery
— for their respective regions or countries?
E-commerce: Does the website need to tie into the company’s existing product or sales databases?
Does the site need to integrate with multiple systems? Does it need to tie into SAP — the business
software platform used to manage products, supply chain, sales, and inventory levels?
Administration: Do you need to set up multiple levels of site administration access? For example, will
some users be able to change fundamental site structures, while other users can only change the
content of certain pages?
Unique product or services: Does the website offer unique products and services (for instance, a site
that lets users create and distribute their own online books) that don’t fit the mold of off-the-shelf
content management systems?
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[Link] III Year Subject- Digital Marketing
UNIT-III
Google Analytics
Set up analytics account
Add analytics Code in a website
Understanding Goals and conversions
Setup goals
Understanding Bounce Rate
Difference between Bounce rate and exit rate
Reduce bounce rate
Monitoring traffic sources
Google Analytics
Analytics Tools offer an insight into the performance of your website, visitors’ behavior, and data flow.
These tools are inexpensive and easy to use. Sometimes, they are even free.
Google Analytics
Google Analytics is a freemium analytic tool that provides a detailed statistics of the web traffic. It is used
by more than 60% of website owners.
Google analytics helps you to track and measure visitors, traffic sources, goals, conversion, and other
metrics (as shown in the above image). It basically generates reports on −
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Audience Analysis
Acquisition Analysis
Behavior Analysis
Conversion Analysis
Audience Analysis
As the name suggests, audience analysis gives you an overview of the audience who visit your site along
with their session history, page-views, bounce rate, etc. You can trace the new as well as the returning
users along with their geographical locations. You can track −
New and returning visitors, their frequency, and engagement under Behavior.
Custom variable report under Custom. This report shows the activity by custom modules that you created
to capture the selections.
Benchmarking channels, locations, and devices under Benchmarking. Benchmarking allows you to
compare your metrics with other related industries. So, you can plot what you need to incur in order to
overtake the market.
Flow of user activity under Users flow to see the path they took on your website.
Acquisition Analysis
Acquisition means ‘to acquire.’ Acquisition analysis is carried out to find out the sources from where your
web traffic originates. Using acquisition analysis, you can −
Capture traffic from all channels, particular source/medium, and from referrals.
See traffic from search engines. Here, you can see Queries, triggered landing pages, and geographical
summary.
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Track social media traffic. It helps you to identify networks where your users are engaged. You can see
referrals from where your traffic originates. You can also have a view of your hub activity, bookmarking
sites follow-up, etc. In the same tab, you can have a look at your endorsements in details. It helps you
measure the impact of social media on your website.
Have a look at all the campaigns you built throughout your website with detailed statistics of paid/organic
keywords and the cost incurred on it.
Behavior Analysis
Behavior analysis monitors users’ activities on a website. You can find behavioral data under the following
four segments −
Site Content − It shows how many pages were viewed. You can see the detailed interaction of data across
all pages or in segments like content drill-down, landing pages, and exit pages. Content drill-down is
breaking up of data into sub-folders. Landing page is the page where the user lands, and exit page is
where the user exits your site. You can measure the behavioral flow in terms of content.
Site Speed − Here, you can capture page load time, execution speed, and performance data. You can see
how quickly the browser can parse through the page. Further, you can measure page timings, user timings,
and get speed suggestion. It helps you to know where you are lagging.
Site Search − It gives you a full picture of how the users search across your site, what they normally look
for, and how they arrive at a particular landing page. You can analyze what they search for before landing
on your website.
Events − Events are visitors’ actions with content, which can be traced independently. Example −
downloads, sign up, log-in, etc.
Conversion Analysis
Conversion is a goal completion or a transaction by a user on your website. For example, download,
checkout, buy, etc. To track conversions in analytics, you need to define a goal and set a URL that is
traceable.
Goals − Metrics that measure a profitable activity that you want the user to complete. You can set them to
track the actions. Each time a goal is achieved, a conversion is added to your data. You can observe goal
completion, value, reverse path, and goal flow.
Ecommerce − You can set ecommerce tracking to know what the users buy from your website. It helps
you to find product performance, sale performance, transactions, and purchase time. Based on these data,
you can analyze what can be beneficial and what can incur you loss.
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Multi-channel funnels − Multi-channel funnels or MCF reports the source of conversion; what roles the
website plays, referrals’ role in that conversion; and what all slabs did when users pass through landing
page to conversion. For example, a user searched for a query on Google search page, he visited the website,
but did not convert. Later on, he directly typed your website name and made a purchase. All these
activities can be traced on MCF.
Attribution − Attribution modeling credits sales and conversions to touch points in conversion tracking. It
lets you decide what platforms or strategy or module is the best for your business. Suppose a person
visited your website through AdWords ad and made no purchase. A month later, he visits via a social
platform and again does not buy. Third time, he visited directly and converted. Here, the last interaction
model will credit direct for the conversion, whereas first interaction model will assign credit to paid
medium. This way, you can analyze what module should be credited for a conversion.
First, you need to have a Google Analytics account. If you have a primary Google account that you use for
other services like Gmail, Google Drive, Google Calendar, Google+, or YouTube, then you should set up your
Google Analytics using that Google account. Otherwise, create a new one.
Once you have a Google account, you can go to Google Analytics by clicking the Sign into Google Analytics
button.
After you click the Sign Up button, you will need to fill out information for your website. You can have up
to 100 Google Analytics accounts under one Google account.
Once you’ve filled in the properties for your website, click the “Get Tracking ID” button. Agree to the terms
and conditions and you will get a Google Analytics code. This must be installed on every page on your
website. The installation will depend on what type of website you have.
After you install your tracking code on the website, you will want to configure the Goals Setting. Goals will
tell Google Analytics when something important has happened on your website.
In Google Analytics, click the New Goal button. From there, you will choose the custom option or template
options. You can create up to 20 goals on your website. Be sure that the ones you create are highly
important to your business. This is the simplest of all conversion tracking in Google Analytics.
If you want to add a new Google Analytics account, you can do so by going to your Admin menu, clicking
the drop-down under the Account column, and clicking the Create New Account link. Once you've installed
Google Analytics on your website(s), set up your goals, and wait about 24 hours for it to start getting data.
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The first step you’ll need to do is find your tracking ID, which is a unique ID created for your Google
Analytics account.
3. From the left column titled Account, select an account from the dropdown menu
4. From the middle column titled Property, select a property from the dropdown menu
5. Under the Property column, click Tracking Info > Tracking Code
6. Your website’s unique tracking ID is shown at the top of the page under Tracking ID and starts with UA
Once you’ve identified your tracking ID, you’ll need to get your tracking code snippet, which can be found
on this page as the Global Site Tag ([Link]). The [Link] is the tracking code for this specific property and
you’ll need to copy and paste this code to every webpage you want to track on your website.
1. Replace the GA_TRACKING_ID with your unique tracking ID provided by Google Analytics
2. Paste the code snippet right after the <head> tag on each page of your site that you’d like to track in Google
Analytics
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Conversion is when a user visits your page and performs an action, for example, purchase, sign-up,
download, etc.
Goals
Goals are used in analytics for tracking completions of specific actions. With the help of goals, you can
measure the rate of success. Goals are measured differently in different industries. For example, in an e-
commerce website you can measure the goal when a product gets sold. In a software company, you can
measure the goal when a software product is sold. In a marketing company, goals are measured when a
contact form is filled.
Types of Goals
Destination Goal − Destination goal is used to find pageviews of a website. Put a destination
URL in the destination field to complete your goal.
Duration Goal − You can measure the user engagement with the help of duration goal. You can
specify hours, minutes, and second field to quantify the goals. If a user spends more than that
much of time on the page, then the goal is completed.
Event Goals − You can measure user interaction with your event on the site. It is called as
event goals. You must have at least one event to compose this goal.
Pages/session Goal − You can measure the user engagement with pages/session goal. First,
you have to specify how many pageviews/session counts as goal complete. Then, with the help
of goal metric, you can analyze how many goals are completed.
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Funnels
Funnels are the steps to complete your goals. With the help of funnels, you can review your goals
completion steps. Let’s suppose for an ecommerce company, product sale is goal completion. So, funnels
are the steps to purchase that product. If most of the visitors leave the website after carting the products,
then you have to check why users are leaving. Is there any problem with the cart section? This can help
you improve your product performance or steps to sale the products.
Multi-Channel Funnels
Multi-Channel Funnel (MCF) report shows how your marketing channels work together. MCF report
shows that how many conversions are done and by which channel. In MCF report, you can find the
following data −
Assisted Conversion − In assisted conversion, you can find which channel has assisted the
highest number of conversions.
Top Conversion Path − Top conversion path report shows the following picture.
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In the above picture, you can see that Organic search > > Direct has 11 conversions. It means the user first
interacts with your product via organic search. Later on, he/she comes to the website direct and makes a
purchase. So, with the help of this report, you can easily analyze your top conversion path to improve your
funnels.
Conversion Funnels
Conversion funnels is the path by which a goal (Product purchase, Lead form done, Service contact form
submitted, etc.) is completed. It is a series of steps covered by the visitors to become customers. It is
explained in the “Bertus Engelbrecht’s” image, given below. If more numbers of visitors are leaving the
website without any purchase, then you can use conversion funnels to analyze the following −
Is there any broken link in the conversion path or any other feature that is not working in the
conversion path?
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Conversion funnels help you visualize the following aspects in the form of graphics −
It is a metric that represents the number of the visitors who visit your website and then quit instead of
continuing to view other pages within your website. They just traversed a single page for a short span.
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Slow Page Load Time − people tend to give up if the website does not load in 4 seconds.
Bombarding Visitors with Offers − Lot of induced banners and intrusive advertisement force
the users to leave the page. Such sites are even lesser trustworthy.
Irrelevant Content − When a user does not see what he is looking for, he will quit in seconds.
Also the content should use proper grammar and easy to understand literature.
Long Fill-up Forms − It is a nasty thing to keep filling the forms. The longer is the form, the
more the users sway. Asking for too much information is never entertained.
Design of the Page − A messy page with lot of images and banners with unclear text do not
hold the visitor for long.
Through continuous efforts, strategic approach and a few best practices might help you in reducing the
bounce rate.
Attract Relevant Traffic − Use targeted keywords that matches with your content. Swarming
irrelevant traffic will only bounce. It will serve no purpose.
Create Multiple landing pages targeted with specific keywords. Write attractive and useful
meta description.
Improve Usability − Make use of readable and grammatically correct text. Use white
background, proper fonts. Make your headlines shine boldly. Use clear headings and
subheadings.
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Well-Organized Layout − Create a website that is easy to navigate. Make it simple and easy to
navigate the design of the webpage. Do not put too many call-to-action buttons in the first page
itself. Too many call-to-action buttons is the reason for high bounce rate.
Page Load-Time − Improve the page speed score of the website. Avoid using self-loading
multimedia content. Set external links to open in new tab. This will help you to improve bounce
rate and traffic as well.
Avoid distracting pop ups in the website − All intrusive advertisements should also be
gotten rid of. You may entertain static ads and place them onto the sides.
The exit rate is the percentage of people who were the last in the session i.e. who left your website from
that page. It may or may not be one page in a session. If it is not the one page in the session, it means that
the visitor may have landed from another page and exited from this page.
To analyze the exit rate you need to check your funnel. Track who are the customers leaving your page.
Find out what type of customers may get you maximum conversion.
Work to optimize that segment. When you are done optimizing traffic, optimize pages of your website.
Create exit surveys − Exit surveys can save you more than 15 percent visitors. It is loaded with essential
information about the visitors’ satisfaction level at your website. You can retain your customers here and
give them exclusive offers to lure them to convert.
Trigger exit pop-ups with a different persuasive message − Pop-Ups with messages can direct them to
some similar products.
Optimize Call-to-action button − We have to check on the page if the call-to-action button is hard to find
for the users. If call-to-action button is not visible to the users, then the exit rate can go high. Try to place
call-to-action button in the first fold of the page itself.
Do A/B Testing − A/B Testing is almost a perfect solution for any dilemma. If we talk about exit rate, it
works tremendously well. To make your test result clear, you need to include both testing measures, i.e.
quantitative and the qualitative analysis of your website.
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The second best practice is start testing from the bottom part of the funnel and keep testing towards the
upper levels.
Undoubtedly, higher conversions or increase in sale means your testing was successful; decreasing leads
means you’ve failed, though not miserably, because it was just a test.
Your site’s traffic comes from many sources. Let’s take a look at each so you’ll know what the stats mean
when you look in Google Analytics for the traffic sources of specific pages.
Organic Traffic
This is traffic that comes from search engines such as Google, Yahoo, and Bing.
High organic traffic usually means your SEO efforts are paying off and your keywords are strong. It also
means you’re getting new readers to your website regularly, people trust your website enough to visit it,
and your success is on the rise.
Referral Traffic
Traffic that comes from any other source besides a search engine, such as a link on another website that
leads to your website, is referral traffic.
If you have a lot of referral traffic coming to your website, you’re an established website in your industry
that others trust enough to cite on their own website for their own target audience to click on and view.
Referral traffic can help you build a strong influence in your niche, monetize your site with advertisements
other businesses trust to place on your website, and even boost conversions rates as people visiting sites
similar to yours begin to frequent your site and see what you have to offer.
Not to mention, outbound links to your website help your search rankings.
Social Traffic
This kind of traffic comes from social media networks such as Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.
Having a strong presence on social media is important for interacting with loyal followers, reaching a
wider audience, and sharing different types of content with your target audience.
Paid Search
If you use Google AdWords and someone clicks on your ad from a search engine result, this counts as a
paid search traffic source.
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Email Traffic
Anyone that clicks on a link that leads to your website from an email marketing campaign, such as a
newsletter, is considered email traffic. Knowing whether your site visitors are coming from your email
campaigns is great for finding out whether you encourage site visitors to come back to your site or not.
Direct Traffic
Direct traffic is usually reserved for site visitors that access your website in one of two ways:
It’s very easy to see the traffic sources of a specific page in your Google Analytics
account.
To start, log into your Google Analytics account and navigate to Behavior » Site Content.
From there you can choose whether to view the traffic sources of all of your website’s
pages, the landing pages, or the exit pages.
In this example we’ll show you how to view the traffic sources of your site’s landing
pages, which is important because these are the pages many visitors will land on first
when visiting your site.
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Now we’ll take a look at how to use segments to take a closer look at traffic stats for a
specific page in Google Analytics.
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UNIT-IV
Social Media Marketing (SMM) is a type of internet marketing which uses the benefits of
social networking sites as a tool of promoting websites, thus increasing traffic towards
them and learning from users’ direct reactions.
The main goal of SMM is to improve communication with users, increase brand visibility and
reach more (potential) customers.
SMM is being done by creating quality content that the users of social networks share with their
friends (via transmitting information electronically, i.e. Electronic Word of Mouth, or eWoM).
Social Media Marketing functions on the principle of Social Media Optimization (SMO), i.e. the
improvement of company image on social networks.
Similarly to Search Engine Optimization (SEO), SMO attracts new, unique visitors to the
targeted website.
Why would search engines care for social networks? Simply because many people use their
social media to search for things, share links and thereby participate in building a strong
network of links
Active promotion means adding links (applications) which lead from the content on the website
towards social networks (similarly to RSS and social media share buttons). Social networks
which can be used as a means of SMM are the following:
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
LinkedIn
Instagram
YouTube
Pinterest
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Each social network has its own Terms of Use, which i different for natural persons and legal
entities, i.e. companies.
Users’ reactions can be further analyzed in order to solve problems and remove dissatisfaction,
and improve their brand experience.
What is useful especially is that that information is obtained in real time, which speeds up the
entire process and opens the door to a new dimension of cooperation.
Social Media is a platform that lets us participate in social networking. We can share our posts
on various social media platforms to improve business visibility. Today it is the best source for
news updates, marketing, education, and entertainment.
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A wisely implemented Social Media Optimization (SMO) strategy can give a great boost to your
business. To draw maximum benefit out of Social Media, you need to set clear and well-defined
business goals and objectives. The following points are the backbone of any well-laid SMO
strategy −
Viral Marketing
Any hot topic that is infectious is Viral Marketing. It is 'exposing an idea' for a cause. It is a
message getting viral by passing it from one to another with an intention of boosting your
business.
Social Media Viral Marketing is the use of social media channels to spread any message for
creating brand awareness. Viral marketing rate may differ on each level.
ALS Ice Bucket Challenge − ALS Association received increased media attention by soaking
the whole world. Even celebrities and entrepreneurs participated in it.
Ashton Kutcher hits 1M − Ashton has been a seeding strategist who influenced his fans by an
influencing message that went viral.
Hotmail went viral − Hotmail team placed a link 'Want a free email account? Sign-up for
Hotmail today.' in the footer of any mail sent from a Hotmail account. It was a viral hit.
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Here are some of the most valuable benefits of viral marketing you might be looking for:
It does not happen at the very beginning but with time it will surely cut down your advertising
costs as you have already got enough exposure and buzz around the internet. Viral Marketing is
indeed a best way to lower down your advertising costs as it is not expensive to launch but is
very effective and fast in getting your message across your prospective buyers.
2. Remarkable growth
Success in business rarely happens quickly. Viral marketing is one of very few tactics that can
create explosive growth in very little time. And once it hits people, it spreads very fast
everywhere that positively affects your business’s sales and profit.
As more and more people in the entire network recommend and talk about your brand, your
credibility is increased among your audience. The loud and remarkable buzz that is generated
will surely help boost your product or service recognition. .Attention-getting videos on internet
can be easily embedded into web pages, blog posts and social networking sites. Your business
get better comments and higher traffic that works for your business on a positive note.
4. Better visibility
5. Conversion
The combinations of different marketing strategies whose objectives are focused on achieving
engagement with your audience have their most convincing proof of ability in increasing traffic.
Viral marketing is one of the most important strategies to attract customers and raise
awareness of your brand. The trust and transformation of prospective customer into potential
customer of your company will come sometime later.
Facebook marketing
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Brands. Food, electronics, home goods, restaurants—nearly any kind of brand can be promoted
through Facebook, turning passive customers into active fans who follow news of promotions
and developments, and who share with their own friends.
Non-profit organizations. Charities, political groups, and public service campaigns can all
leverage the natural sharing capabilities of Facebook.
Twitter marketing
A Twitter marketing strategy is a plan centered around creating, publishing, and distributing
content for your buyer personas, audience, and followers through the social media platform.
The goal of this type of strategy is to attract new followers and leads, boost conversions,
improve brand recognition, and increase sales.
Creating a Twitter marketing strategy will require you to follow the same steps you would if you
were creating any other social media marketing strategy.
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LinkedIn Marketing
LinkedIn is a professional networking platform that was launched in 2003 for professional
development and networking. While it primarily serves individual professionals, allowing them
to post accomplishments and work histories, as well as upload resumes and other supporting
material, it also provides opportunities for businesses to post jobs, showcase new products and
services, and network with potential prospects. A messaging feature also provides two-way
communication between users.
For businesses, LinkedIn is an effective tool for collaboration, sharing best practices, and
targeted marketing efforts. Independent organizations can participate in various groups to
expand their network, and executives and business owners can position themselves as thought
leaders in their industry.
Establishing your LinkedIn company page is easy. You’ll use it to build brand awareness and
promote your products and services to customers and prospects.
First, click on the “Work” dropdown at the top righthand corner of your homepage and select
“Create a Company Page+” from the bottom of the menu.
Post company updates from your page that your audience will find interesting and helpful.
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Create LinkedIn Showcase pages for specific products so you can customize your messages for
different segments of your audience.
Website Retargeting — Allows you to market to LinkedIn members who have already visited
your website.
Account Targeting — Helps you reach decision-makers within your target accounts.
Contact Targeting — Enables you to upload or integrate your contact list to build a customized
audience for your business.
Here are some suggestions on how you can promote your Google Plus business page:
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Make sure that your Google Plus account is linked to your company’s official website. You can
also link this account to your other social networking profiles, if applicable. Since the URL of
Google Plus page you get “might” be a tad long, you may want to use a badge on your site.
Share your Google Plus account using all the resources you have, from social networking
profiles to print advertisements to press releases. You can also include a link in your other
personal links, or on the company website.
Try to create your own community. This will give your audience a better chance of getting to
know your company and what it’s all about. Of course, you have to make sure that you actually
do or give something back to the community to make it work.
Join communities and actively participate in their activities by posting comments and sharing
posts on your own stream. Eventually, you will be able to post your own content into that
community, and your content may lead them back to your profile, that is, if the community
allows such promotions.
Don’t underestimate the usefulness of hashtags. Hashtags can help you find people who can
relate with your stream posts, and this could be a chance to offer them the products and
services of your business.
Getting more and more people to follow you will boost your popularity and will land you on the
trending posts. Just by making the top ten will automatically lead more people to you.
You can always look into paid promotion like Google Adwords and other PPC networks.
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If a photo’s worth a thousand words, then how much more valuable is video? That’s the basis of
video marketing, a forward-facing marketing strategy that integrates engaging video into your
marketing campaigns.
Video marketing can be used for everything from building customer rapport, to promoting your
brand, services or products. Additionally, video marketing can serve as a medium to present
how-to’s, promote customer testimonials, live-stream events and deliver viral (entertaining)
content.
2. Tell your stories. Storytelling has never been as important as it is in video, so get
brainstorming: What stories do you want to tell? How will you tell them?
3. Engage. It’s not enough to simply tell your stories; you must engage your audience while you do
so. How will you make your stories interesting? What will hook your audience?
4. Keep it short. There’s no set length for marketing videos but the general rule is that shorter is
better. Be ruthless with your editing. Cut, cut, cut out everything extraneous. Attention spans
are short, so make the best of what you get.
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5. Publish. Publish your videos far and wide – embedded in your website, uploaded to Google-
owned YouTube, and on all your social media channels. Then, promote, promote, promote.
6. Analyze. Track metrics and stats, to determine which videos do the best – and why.
Video marketing is all over the Internet. Look no further than your favorite brands, your
Facebook, your YouTube homepage, and there it is: successful video marketing that has found
its way to your eyes.
The benefits of video marketing are many. Let’s begin with the easily quantifiable: statistics,
numbers, and data
Video helps you connect with your audience. Today, so much of a company’s marketing efforts
are designed to help build trust. Video is the bridge that links what you say to who you really
are, allowing customers to peer behind the curtain and get to know your brand.
Video is an SEO gold mine, helping build backlinks to your site, boosting likes and shares
(which can effect search rankings), and driving traffic to your site. And let’s not forget that
YouTube is owned by Google, so be sure to post your videos to YT and tag, tag, tag with
keywords/key phrases!
Videos boost information retention. If your customers hear something only, they’re likely to
retain about 10% of that information three days later; by contrast, if what they hear is
accompanied by relevant imagery, they’ll retain an average 65% of that information three days
later.
In 2017, video content will account for an estimated 74% of all online traffic. Your customers
love video. Would-be customers also love video, which means good video marketing can attract
new visitors.
Email subject lines that include the word “video” see a 19% increase in open rates, and a 65%
boost in click-throughs.
Four times as many customers would prefer to watch a product video, than read a product
description.
Do you like money? Then consider this: after watching a video, customers are 64-85% more
likely to make a purchase.
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Pinterest Marketing
Pinterest is a social media site that is based on the idea of sharing visuals. Users or “pinners”,
can organize, share images/videos from around the Internet and search for them as well. Which
also makes it one of the biggest search engines for visual content.
Images and videos that users upload (along with their links and descriptions) are known as
pins. Pinners have the option of neatly organizing their pins into virtual bulletin boards, also
called pinboards.
Users can customize and theme their boards, which can then be followed by other users. You
also have the option to make your boards private or public.
2. Repin and share visuals that you discover through your feed
The best thing about Pinterest is that it allows you to share ideas and inspire others like no
other social platform.
Also, since every pinner is busy pinning visuals of their own interest and organizing them, they
have no problem with other pinners seeing their activity. Which makes Pinterest marketing
a highly effective way to get the word out about your products/services.
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Here are three ways you can tap into the huge opportunity called Pinterest marketing and
expand the reach of your business, regardless of the niche you are operating in.
Counseling services: Counselors can post tips, advice, blog content and pins to other helpful
resources
Financial advisors: Advisers can Pin blog content, testimonials, infographics or links to lead
magnets that encourage engagement
Real estate agents: Agents can Pin testimonials, consultation tips and blog content that are great
for agent exposure
Attorneys: Tips on hiring an attorney, humor, blog content and lead magnets are all great
options for attorneys using Pinterest.
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UNIT-V
SEO stands for Search Engine Optimization, which is the practice of increasing
the quantity and quality of traffic to your website through organic search
engine results.
To understand the true meaning of SEO, let's break that definition down and look at
the parts:
Quality of traffic. You can attract all the visitors in the world, but if they're
coming to your site because Google tells them you're a resource for Apple
computers when really you're a farmer selling apples, that is not quality
traffic. Instead you want to attract visitors who are genuinely interested in
products that you offer.
Quantity of traffic. Once you have the right people clicking through from
those search engine results pages (SERPs), more traffic is better.
Organic results. Ads make up a significant portion of many SERPs. Organic traffic is
any traffic that you don't have to pay for.
You might think of a search engine as a website you visit to type (or speak) a
question into a box and Google, Yahoo!, Bing, or whatever search engine you're using
magically replies with a long list of links to webpages that could potentially answer
your question.
That's true. But have you ever stopped to consider what's behind those magical lists
of links?
Here's how it works: Google (or any search engine you're using) has a crawler that
goes out and gathers information about all the content they can find on the Internet.
The crawlers bring all those 1s and 0s back to the search engine to build an index.
That index is then fed through an algorithm that tries to match all that data with
your query.
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There are a lot of factors that go into a search engine's algorithm, and here's how a
group of experts ranked their importance:
The O part of SEO—optimization—is where the people who write all that content
and put it on their sites are gussying that content and those sites up so search
engines will be able to understand what they're seeing, and the users who arrive via
search will like what they see.
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Optimization can take many forms. It's everything from making sure the title
tags and meta descriptions are both informative and the right length to
pointing internal links at pages you're proud of.
First, you’ll need to get a display campaign active in your AdWords account. To begin,
click the red “+ Campaign” button from within the main AdWords interface, then select
“Display Network only” from the options that appear.
Google Adwords
Google Ads (formerly Google AdWords, before July 24, 2018) is an online
advertising platform developed by Google, where advertisers pay to display
brief advertisements, service offerings, product listings, video content, and generate
mobile application installs within the Google ad network to web users.
Google Ads has evolved into Google's main source of revenue, contributing to Google's
total advertising revenues of US$95.4 billion in 2017. Google Ads offers services under
a pay-per-click (PPC) pricing model. Although an advanced bidding strategy can be
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Sales and support for Google's Ads division in the United States is based in Mountain
View, California, with major secondary offices in Hyderabad, Dublin, Singapore, Ann
Arbor and New York City. The third-largest US facility is the Googolplex, Google's
headquarters, which is located in Mountain View, California. Google AdWords
engineering is based at the Googleplex, with major secondary offices in Los Angeles and
New York.
As of June 2018, Google derives 86% of its total revenues from trading advertising
inventory through AdWords, DoubleClick AdExchange, and DoubleClick Bid Manager,
among others.[
I’m sure you all aware of Google Adwords and Have been using it for a while but there
are some basics that need to know to understand the AdWords Algorithm.
Yes to succeed in the marketing campaign you need to understand the Adwords
Algorithm.
It’s a worth that’s employed by Google to work out precisely wherever your
ads are shown on a specific page and, in several cases, whether or not your
ads can seem ahead of your audience in the slightest degree.
The Quality Score is important to measure for running Google AdWords. The Quality
Score is typically the relationship between ad group, keywords, ad and landing page
and what a user is looking for and the likelihood that someone he/she will click the ad.
Here’s the Google page for “Quality Score, Review and Understand.”
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Each search on Google will create an auction. Any advertiser whose keyword matches
the search query will participate in the auction.
The CTR helps us to better understand the number of visitors to our websites online as
a result of a campaign.
We will see how to calculate the clickthrough rate with an easy-to-understand formula.
To Calculate CTR We Divide the number of clicks through to the site divided by the
number of total impressions. Then we multiply it by 100.
For Example: if your Ad has 1000 impression and 20 clicks then your Ad will have CTR
of 1%
CTR 2% =20/1000×100
CTR is an important parameter for ad analytics because it gives you an idea of how your
keywords and ads performing.
You can check your CTR at any time in your AdWords account. A high CTR means users
find your ads useful and relevant.
Let’s Say Sahil wants to buy fresh flowers for his girlfriend for Valentine’s Day, he is
typing in “fresh flowers” he’s seeing two ads the first ads says fresh flowers buy locally
and the second ad says red roses buy online. Although these two ads are relevant, Sahil
is more likely to click on the one containing your original search term for “fresh
flowers.”
The percentage of clicks is important as it directly affects the quality score. Google is
interested in the overall user experience and rewards advertisers with the most
relevant ads.
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A high CTR means a higher quality score, which means higher ad placement and lower
cost-per-click. So what is the right CTR?
In general, you must aim for at least 2%. However, a good CTR is different for each
keyword.
In your account, Google gives estimates as to whether your CTRs are good, bad, or
average, so you can monitor them closely.
Ads are sorted by ranking. best Ad Rank wins first place, until the last bid that is valid
on the auction, till last position on the first page.
What the advertiser actually pays is the least amount needed to outperform the
competitors below him.
How, much each advertiser competes because of its rankings Again a slightly simplified
version.
For Example; We want to be first on the page, no matter what. We cannot guarantee
that, but we can certainly be pretty sure if we go beyond the keyword and say $50.
To win, a competitor must have an Ad Rank> 300. This means that even with a QS 6
keyword, he has to bid $ 50.01 per click to get the first place.
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Assuming that you have a more realistic offer of $5/ click, the amount we would pay at
the auction will be calculated as follows.
If our Quality Score on that keyword in that auction was 6, then the amount we would
pay is:
It’s going to be really interesting here. The person in the first place could pay less than
the people among them.
Sounds Crazy? This is the reason why this happens. Assuming the same $80 bid for first
place, let’s say that the next participant has only a 4 QS keyword for a $10 bid, and next
person has QS 6 in a $6 bid and the person in position 4 has the keyword QS 7 in a 9
dollar bid.
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Next, you’ll walk through configuring the campaign. You can add geographic targets and
set up bids similarly to how you’d set them up in a search campaign. You will want to
pay specific attention to the options under “Ad Delivery” in the setup phase.
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These targeting options can also be layered together make targeting even more precise.
For example, by layering targeting options you can reach only people who both fit in an
“apartments for rent” interest category and who are browsing sites within an
“apartments and residential properties” category. You should test multiple forms of
targeting against each other to see what performs best for your brand. Build out
multiple ad groups targeting different categories, such as “interests + keywords” or
“topics + remarketing,” and compare performance over time.
To set up or modify targeting on a display ad group, go to the Display Network tab from
within the AdWords interface and select the red “+ Targeting” button.
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Note that, for each of these categories, you can choose to reach only the targets you
select (Target and Bid) or to simply bid on those targets while also reaching others that
fit within your targeting criteria (Bid Only). In the example above, we’ve chosen to
“Target and Bid” on the website placements, so ads will only show on the websites
listed. However, we’ve chosen “Bid Only” on the audience category. With this setup, we
can increase our audience bid to make ads be more likely to reach those heavily
showing interest in apartment research, but still show ads to anyone visiting the
selecting websites.
Remarketing is a powerful option, allowing you to target people who have previously
visited your website. To take advantage, you’ll need to ensure the remarketing code is
in place on your site and that you’ve built out remarketing lists relevant to the
audiences you want to target. You can then add remarketing to your targeting options
from the “Interests and remarketing” section.
Once you have a campaign setup with targeting options in place, you’ll need to ensure
you’re reaching people with the right ad messaging.
Display Ad Types
You can run text ads, static image, or animated display ads on the Google Display
Network. Each type of ad has its own pros and cons.
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Text ads are the easiest to create, as you simply input text into AdWords.
These ads also will receive wide reach, since AdWords will fit text ads into many
different sized placements across a wide number of sites.
Static image ads require time to concept and design, but can drive much
more visibility to your brand. You’re also limited to ads appearing within placements
fitting the ad sizes you’ve designed.
Animated display ads utilize HTML5 to incorporate motion and interactivity.
These have the advantage of further increasing ad visibility, as well as working in more
messaging, since text and imagery can show through a sequence of motion. However,
these ads require the most time to construct.
Note that you can use pre-built display ad templates within AdWords, which will help
you save time and quickly cover a variety of ad placements. However, you also run the
risk of your ads looking like the same templates countless other advertisers are using.
We’d recommend running both text ads and image ads in separate ad groups, since you
can often cover more placements with text ads that may not be available with image ads
alone. However, if at all possible, you should include well-designed image ads, which
tend to show higher click through rates and better represent your brand online.
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