Warhammer BRB 8th Edition FAQ 1.7
Warhammer BRB 8th Edition FAQ 1.7
RULEBOOK paragraph.
Command Groups Q: Can a character move through a unit he has joined when he Q: Can models not in a challenge direct attacks against the mount Q: Does a unit garrisoning a building count as having any ranks
Q: Can a Standard Bearer use a weapon that requires two hands? leaves it (i.e. can he leave through the side or rear of the unit, of a character that is in a challenge? (p103) at any point? (p126)
Can he use an additional hand weapon? (p94) measuring the move from his starting position)? (p101) A: No. A. No.
A: Yes to both questions. A: Yes.
Q: Can a monster and its rider both shoot in the same shooting Q: If a Wizard, in a unit in a building, miscasts and rolls a
Characters Q: If a unit containing one or more characters has had its phase? (p105) Dimensional Cascade or Calamitous Detonation result, is the
Q: Does a character have a troop type? If yes, do all of the rules Movement Allowance altered, will this affect a character leaving A: Yes. Additionally, if there are multiple riders they can Wizard always one of the D6 models hit? (p127)
that apply to that troop type apply to the character? And will the the unit, including if he tries to charge out of it? (p101) each shoots A. Yes.
character be affected by special attacks or spells that affect that A: Yes, but for that move only.
troop type? (p96) Q: Does a ridden monster benefit from any ward save that its Q: What happens if a unit that is assaulting a building is itself
A: Yes to all questions. Q: At what point after a unit has been wiped out do any rider possesses or vice versa? (p105) charged? (p127)
characters remaining count as having left the unit? (p101) A: No. A: The assault on the building is abandoned (move the unit
Q: Do lone characters get a Look Out, Sir roll against Impact A: As soon as the last model from the unit has been that was assaulting the building backward 1") The two units
Hits if there is a friendly unit consisting of five or more models of removed, any remaining characters will count as a new unit. Q If a Battle Standard Bearer has to be placed in the second outside the building are now engaged in combat instead and
the characters troop type within 3? (p96) Note that this will cause Panic tests to all friendly units rank of a unit due to there being no space for them in the units will fight a round of combat this turn.
A: Yes. within 6" (including the newly formed unit of character(s)) first rank, do the effects of the battle standard still apply? (p107)
as the unit has been destroyed. A Yes. Q: Can a character that was not one of the ten models chosen to
Q: If a character is required to join a unit and all units are take part in a building assault be one of the models that step up to
required to test to see if they are held in reserve or moved on from Q: Can a character or champion that is part of the crew of a war Q If a Battle Standard Bearer who has a magic standard has to replace casualties suffered in the assault? (p128)
a board edge at the start of a turn, how is this resolved? (p97) machine issue or accept a challenge? (p102) be placed in the second rank of a unit due to there being no space A: No, he is far too busy convincing his soldiers to take his
A: Before rolling for any units you must nominate which A: No. for them in the units front rank, do the effects of the magic place in the assault to get involved himself.
unit each character that is required to join a unit is going to standard still apply? (p107)
be deployed with and then roll once to determine if they all Q: After accepting a challenge must the challenged model always A Yes. Q: If a unit that can cast spells as a Wizard (for example Pink
turn up or all are delayed. For example a Skaven army with a move into base contact with the enemy model that issued the Horrors of Tzeentch) is within 3 of a Wizards Tower, does the
Grey Seer on a Screaming Bell is playing against an Orc & challenge? (p102) War Machines unit know all of the spell from its chosen lore(s) while it controls
Goblin army with Skarsnik. The Grey Seer would have to A: If the challenged model is on his own then he must move the tower as if it were a Wizard? (p131)
nominate which unit of Clanrats or Stormvermin he is into base contact. If the challenged model is in a unit he Q: Does a bolt thrower require two or more crew remaining to A: Yes.
joining before any rolls are made to see which units are must move as long as it does not require leaving his unit. fire? (p111)
delayed by Skarsnik. Where it is not possible for base contact to be made then A: No. Choosing Your Army
leave the models where they are and simply assume that the Q: Its not uncommon for special rules or spells to beneficially affect
Q: If a Wizard casts a spell that targets him then leaves the unit, two models are in base contact. Battlefield Terrain models of a certain type. If my opponents army also has such
will the spell remain on both the Wizard and the unit? (p97) Q: When does the affect of an augment or hex spell end if it is models, can they be affected too? What about allied units on my
A: No, once the Wizard has left the unit it will only target Q: If, for any reason, a character involved in a challenge ceases cast by a River of Light? And what happens if a spell cast by a own side? (p132 & p136)
him. If he subsequently joins another unit, or rejoins the unit to count as a character before the challenge ends (for example, if River of Light affects a units ability to move? (p120) A: Special rules and spells such as this only ever affect
he has left, while the spell is still in play then they will benefit a Chaos model was under the effects of Call To Glory and the A: Augment and hex spells last until the start of the Magic friendly units from their own army, and will not affect enemy
from the spell. spell was ended part way through the challenge) what happens? phase in their sides next turn the spell does not end in the or allied units that happen to be in range.
(p102) Magic phase immediately after the Movement phase when it
Q: Can characters change position inside a unit as part of a A: Complete the challenge as normal this turn. The model was triggered. Any movement effects will not apply until the Q: Do I have to show my opponent my army roster at the start of
normal move?(p97) which has ceased to be a character must use its non-character units next Movement phase they do not affect movement a battle, or can I wait until the end of the game, which means I
A: Yes, as long as they end up in the rank closest to the front (and thus probably much reduced) stat-line from the on the turn they are triggered. only need to reveal things like which magic items my characters
of the unit that has a space in. It is also worth remembering moment the spell ends. At the end of the round of close have taken when I first use them? (p132)
that even if only the character moves the whole unit will combat the challenge automatically ends. Q: If a cavalry, monstrous cavalry or chariot unit charges a unit A: If you think this may be an issue, discuss it with your
count as moving that turn. Having a belligerent officer barge touching the other side of an obstacle how many models need to take opponent before the game starts. Some players prefer full
his way through the unit is not conducive to a good round of Q: If a model with a Breath Weapon, Stomp or Thunderstomp is a dangerous terrain test ? (p123) disclosure at the start of the battle, while others prefer to wait
shooting! in a challenge, can these attacks hit models not in the A: Any model touching the obstacle must test. until the battle has finished before revealing their roster. It is
challenge?(p102) for you and your opponent to decide which method you
A: No. prefer to use.
14 WARHAMMER RULEBOOK