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Business Startup Guide

This document provides a 9 step checklist for starting a painting business. The steps include: deciding on a company name, registering the business with state and federal agencies, setting up a bank account, obtaining necessary insurance and licenses, creating a basic logo and website, and ordering basic marketing materials. Completing these initial steps lays the foundation needed to launch the new painting business and pursue the first job. The document emphasizes keeping startup costs low and allowing the business model to evolve over time as the company grows.

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sandrogozzo
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100% found this document useful (1 vote)
238 views29 pages

Business Startup Guide

This document provides a 9 step checklist for starting a painting business. The steps include: deciding on a company name, registering the business with state and federal agencies, setting up a bank account, obtaining necessary insurance and licenses, creating a basic logo and website, and ordering basic marketing materials. Completing these initial steps lays the foundation needed to launch the new painting business and pursue the first job. The document emphasizes keeping startup costs low and allowing the business model to evolve over time as the company grows.

Uploaded by

sandrogozzo
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 29

T H E PA IN T IN G B USI N ESS

START UP
CHECKLIST
TABLE OF CONTENTS

9 STEPS TO GET STARTED 3 >

6 POWERFUL REASONS TO BUILD A 8 >


PAINTING COMPANY

WHAT ARE YOUR STARTUP COSTS? 13 >

HOW FAST CAN YOU MAKE PROFIT? 16 >

LET‘S CREATE YOUR BUSINESS GOALS 18 >

THE BIG PICTURE: 23 >


GROWING YOUR BUSINESS

TESTIMONIALS 28 >
9 STEPS TO
GET STARTED

03
STEP 1 STEP 3
DECIDE ON YOUR COMPANY NAME GET YOUR FEDERAL EIN
(EMPLOYER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER)
Your company name should include the word
“Painting” or “Painters” in it. Once you have registered your business with the
Secretary of State, you are ready to register your
Your company name should be easy to spell so you are business with the Federal Government to get your EIN.
easy to find by potential customers. You’ll need a Federal EIN to open a bank account, file
taxes, and legally operate your business.
Do a google search to see if there are any other
companies using that name already… Or any name
like it. You don’t want potential customers accidentally HOW TO GET YOUR EIN VIDEO
hiring a competitor when they were searching for you.

Once you’ve decided on a name, register MORE FEDERAL EIN INFO


your business.

STEP 2 STEP 4
REGISTER YOUR BUSINESS WITH SET UP YOUR BANK ACCOUNT
THE SECRETARY OF STATE
Once you have registered with the Secretary of State
To register your business you’ll register it with and got your Federal EIN, you’re ready to set up your
your Secretary of State. Go to google and search bank account. Take your “Articles of Organization”
“Colorado Secretary of State” or whatever state you from the Secretary of State and your Federal EIN
are in. confirmation to the bank. Also bring your driver‘s
license.
If you’re having any trouble finding out where or how
to register your business, do a Google search: “How to These are the 3 documents you’ll need to set up your
register my business in (state)” bank account.

You should easily find helpful articles that will show


you how to register your business. Do not pay any 3rd
party to register your business for you. This is an easy
process once you know what to do.

Click the button to see a quick video example of how


to register a business in Colorado:

REGISTERING YOUR BUSINESS

CO N T I N U E D

04
STEP 5 STEP 7
GET A GENERAL LIABILITY INSURANCE CREATE YOUR FIRST LOGO
INSURANCE & WORKERS COMP POLICY
Don’t spend too much time or money on your
You need to contact an insurance agency to set up logo. You can always redesign it later. You just need
your General Liability Insurance and your Workers something to start with. Don’t spend more than $50-
Compensation policies. $100 on a logo.

The basics are: There are a few ways you can get a logo created.
• Get $1,000,000 in General Liability Insurance
• Get a Workers Compensation Policy 1. Ask friends and family or post on your social
media networks. You probably know someone who
A good insurance agent can help get you the best can help you with that… Or someone you know
policy with the best protection. Insurance is not a will have a referral for you. This is the best option.
place you want to get “the best price”... Because the 2. Fiverr.com
best price usually means bad insurance. If you ever 3. 99Designs.com
need insurance, you don’t want bad insurance. 4. Upwork.com

Need a referral? My insurance agent can do your


insurance and workers comp in all 50 states. Email me
if you want an introduction:

[email protected]

STEP 6
DETERMINE LICENSING REQUIREMENTS &
GET LICENSE (IF REQUIRED)

Licensing requirements are different in all 50 states,


and in some states there are different requirements
depending on your county. This is where you’ll need to
do a little bit of your own homework.

Here are a few steps you can take to determine if you


need a license. Usually a Google search will give you
the information you need...

Do a Google Search: “Painting Contractor License


Requirements in STATE”

The answer should pop up right at the top.

If you can’t find your answer there, contact a local


government office. Let them know you are starting
a painting company and are trying to find out the
licensing requirements. Ask them who would have that
information. They should be able to connect you to
someone who knows more information… Keep doing
this until you find the person you need to talk to.
CO N T I N U E D

05
STEP 8
BUILD A COMPANY WEBSITE

You don’t need to invest a lot of money in your website early on WEBSITE + SEO
either. Nobody will be visiting your website until you give them the Ranking your website on the top of Google
direct link… Nobody will be able to find you on Google right away, is very profitable but also expensive. You
and nobody knows about your business yet. should start investing in SEO as soon as
you can afford it. SEO stands for Search
The reason you need a website is because customers will ask for Engine Optimization… This is a term
your website, and if you don’t have one you seem untrustworthy. used for “how do you get a website at the
This is about credibility and being “legit”. top of Google”. There are 2 companies I
recommend for a new business.

TownSquare Interactive: These guys do


FREE: BUILD YOUR OWN WEBSITE a good job and it’s pretty inexpensive. I
You can use www.weebly.com or www.wix.com to build your have a rep standing by at this company
own website for free. It’s really easy to do and you don’t need who has worked with a lot of Painting
to do anything fancy. This is what I did for my business for the Business Pro members. Send an email
first 2 years. to Sean Henderson <Sean.Henderson@
townsquaremedia.com > with the subject
line “Painting Business Pro Referral”
PROFESSIONAL WEBSITE: HIRE GEORGE
and copy us on the email support@
George builds great websites. He’s done websites for a number
paintingbusinesspro.com. They’ll take extra
of my Painting Business Pro customers. It’s $500 for the website,
special care of you knowing I referred you.
plus $50 per month for “managing” the website which means any
small changes or updates you need to make is covered by that
Painter Marketing 360: These guys are
$50. This is a great option for a very professional website without
the biggest company out there. They do
breaking the bank. Examples of his work below:
all kinds of digital marketing for painting
contractors. They are also more expensive
www.cardinalpropainters.com jjpaintingco.com
than anyone else. But I do have some
prodigiouspainting.com proactivepainting.net
Painting Business Pro members who use
www.raelpainting.com paintplusoftampa.com
them and like them.

HIRE GEORGE FOR $500 REQUEST CONSULT

06
S TE P 9
ORDER BASIC MARKETING
& SALES MATERIALS

I like to keep things really simple at the beginning. The key is


getting this business started quickly so you can win your first job. WHERE CAN I ORDER SALES
You don’t need a lot to start winning your first jobs, bringing in MATERIALS FROM?
money, and painting your first houses. Once you are doing htat,
you’re making profit and you can invest more money into all the Your best options for ordering your first
stuff you want. batch of sales and marketing material are:

But even then, I recommend keeping it simple!


VISTAPRINT OFFICE MAX
At the very beginning, you need…
• Blank Exterior Estimating Forms
• Exterior Estimating Standards OFFICE DEPOT STAPLES
• Blank Customer Contracts
• Flyers
• Business Cards
• Basic Client Manual

Use the templates provided for your first version. Again, don’t
overcomplicate this. These templates provided are basic to make
it easy for you… And they work!
CONGRATULATIONS! YOU’RE
READY TO BUILD YOUR BUSINESS!

07
POWERFUL
REASONS
TO B U I L D A PA I N T I N G COM PA N Y

The painting business and painting industry have a LOT of appeal and
opportunity. It’s not that I’m passionate about painting, I am passionate about
serving my customers, taking care of my employees, and building a great
business.

I am passionate about building a business and the kind of life it provides me.

Building a business provides something you can never have as a wage-earner.


You can control your time and control your income. You can create anything
you want in your life using a business as a vehicle.

What you do with that time and money is different for everyone. We’ll get to
that soon enough but for now, let me show you why the painting business is a
very attractive business to be in.

Let’s dive in…

08
LOW RISK & LOW START UP COST
If you don’t have a dollar to your name, So many businesses require a lot of money
you can still get this business started quite to start, and you’re “crossing your fingers”
easily. If you have some money to invest, that you start making money and making
#1 it’ll make it even easier for you. profit.

I’ll even show you exactly how I started my It kills me to see that happen. You see
business with $200 and made $4,000 in restaurants or shops open and then close
profit in the first 4 weeks working part time. their doors 6-8 months later. How much
money and time did they lose? How big is
We’ll also cover how much it can cost to the hole they need to dig out of now?
get your business started on the low end to
the high end. You don’t have to worry about putting
your life savings at risk when starting this
Once you get your business started, you business… And you can make profit
can keep it simple and avoid any big risks. very quickly!
This is rare to find.

HIGH PROFIT MARGINS


I recommend that you start with residential This means it’s all positive cash flow.
painting. There is a lot of opportunity in
other types of painting work, but it’s more That’s a dream come true for a
#2 complicated, risky, and less profitable. new business...

Residential painting is a huge market and is Immediately you can have money and
highly profitable… profit coming in.

You get paid right away... You can also start this business with no
equipment and no office (more to come on
You can set the business up so that that later).
money never goes out unless money
comes in first...

09
LOW LEVEL OF COMPETITION
Everyone I talk to has a bad contractor Most painting contractors have no idea
story. This industry has a bad reputation. what they are doing when it comes to
That reputation has been earned. marketing, estimating, selling, managing
#3 In this entire industry (not just painting),
subcontractors or employees, and the like.

if you operate with integrity, show up on That’s what I teach.


time, and do what you say you’re going
to do … you are better than a lot of the When you follow proven business
competition out there right now. principles, it’s easy to compete and beat
the competition and you can leapfrog
This is also not a business savvy industry. existing painting contractors in your city.

MASSIVE, GROWING MARKET


Every building out there needs to be You don’t need an already existing
painted inside and out…. Again, and again, reputation.
and again.
#4 More buildings and houses are constantly
People don’t trust contractors anyways.

being built. In some ways you have an advantage being


new.
Our market is getting bigger by the day.
No matter how many successful companies
In almost any market, you can immediately are in your market, you can immediately
start generating new business. start peeling off business for yourself.

010
IT’S SIMPLE AND EASY
Painting contractors out there hate me for An exterior paint job is prep work (how
saying this. to fix problems), application, and what
products to use...
#5 I don’t mean all of painting is simple…
Hiring experienced painters will fill in the
I mean you can keep it simple at the smaller details.
beginning!
I can teach this to you in an afternoon.
You don’t need a ton of technical
knowledge. Then you slowly expand out from there as
you gain knowledge.
If you start with residential exterior
repaints, there is little technical knowledge You don’t need to chase the complicated
you need to start this business. jobs to make a great company.

You aren’t going to be the one doing the The residential repaint market is
painting - you’ll hire experienced painters enormous, very profitable, and the
to do that for you. competition is weak and not business
minded.
You need to know the problems that
happen on a house, the solutions to
those problems, and the products to
recommend.

IT’S NOT SEXY


What is sexy? Software. Tech. The stuff you There is a low level of competition…
see on Shark Tank and The Profit. In a HUGE industry… With great profit
margins… Very low start up costs…
#6 Why is that good for us?
And because it’s not “sexy”... It keeps a lot
All the smartest people in the world are of people “out” of this industry.
working in those industries. Nobody wants
to be in the trades because it’s not “sexy”. But that won’t last for long...

Ironically, that’s what makes this business


so attractive!

011
ERIC BARSTOW
Founder

YOU
PROBABLY
ALREADY
KNOW
WHAT I’M
TELLING
YOU...
Most people I talk to are interested in starting a So you see an opportunity to come in and do a better job.
painting business because they’ve been working as a And it’s almost impossible to find another industry like
painter and they want more for themselves… this one…

Or they see what a terrible job the owner of their 1. Start up for less than $1,000
existing company is doing, or they think they can do as 2. Make profit in the first 30 days
good or better of a job. 3. Have a massive, need-based market
4. With low level competition
Or you aren’t from this industry and you’ve seen, from 5. With low technical knowledge
the outside, how low the bar is. 6. And low barrier to entry

I hear from people all the time that they were trying You probably won’t find another industry or
to get estimates and nobody would show up, or did opportunity like this one.
terrible work…
It is an amazing opportunity for building a business.

012
WHAT ARE
YOUR START
UP COSTS?
013
Starting up a painting business does not need to be expensive.
I started my business with $200 invested and made $4,000 in
profit in the first 30 days.

I’ll outline the start up costs with a low end and high end of what BUSINESS REGISTRATION
you can expect to spend to get your business started before you Range: $0-$150
are making profit. There is a small fee to register your business in every
Once you are doing your first jobs, the business expenses will be state. This fee should be between $0-$150 depending
covered and you’ll be earning profit on where you live. This is a requirement and something
you’ll have to pay to register your business.
These are the costs required before you can do your first jobs.
BANK ACCOUNT SET UP
Range: $0-$200
Depending on the relationship you have with your
bank, you may need to deposit a small amount of
money to open a new account. The bank won’t charge
you to open an account, they might just require a small
deposit into the account.

LICENSE
Range: $0-$1,500
Most states don’t require a license. But if your state
does require a license, it should cost less than $1,500.
This is the most expensive I’ve heard of… And if you
are in a state that requires a license, you have a couple
options… You can save up and get the license. Or you
can start your business without a license and sell your
first job without a license. Then use the deposit from
that customer to get your license. Then do the actual
painting once you have your license… Be creative. This
is an example of getting creative!

GENERAL LIABILITY INSURANCE


Range: $100-$200 plus $100-$150 per month
Liability insurance is something you want to get
before you start doing any estimates. Customers
want to know you are insured. This applies to workers
compensation policy as well. You should be able to get
a general liability policy of $1,000,000 in coverage for
less than $150 per month. If you need a referral, let
me know. I have a great insurance agent who can help
in all 50 states.

WORKERS COMPENSATION
Range: $0-$500
You get your workers comp policy from the same
insurance agent as your general liability insurance. But
you can set up your workers comp policy to cost you
$0. You’ll end up “paying” for the policy at the end of
the year when you do an audit… Or you can set it up
to pay $0 for the first 2 months, then start paying once
your business is going. Ask your insurance agent (or the
one I refer you to) to help you with payment structure.

014
EQUIPMENT START UP
Range: $0-$5,000
Please do not buy any equipment. This is one of the COST OVERVIEW
biggest mistakes people make. The only reason you
need equipment is if you are using employees. And
starting your business off with employees makes this a MINIMUM START UP COSTS:
LOT harder… My advice is to follow my teaching and
start with subcontractors. Subcontractors are business $2 5 0
owners who have their own equipment and a lot of
painting experience. This helps you avoid purchasing Business Registration
any equipment, ladders, trucks, sprayers, etc… And Insurance
you also don’t have the pressure of “keeping your Marketing & Sales Materials
employees busy”. You can do a job “here and there” as
you get started.
MAXIMUM START UP COSTS:
MARKETING AND SALES MATERIALS
Range: $100-$500
$1 5 ,0 0 0
This includes the paperwork you should print off to
Nobody should ever start a painting business
start marketing and selling including flyers, estimate
with this much money. You would be very
forms, contracts, and a client manual. This is all
foolish to spend this much money. But it
included in the Painting Business Pro course so you
would include spending money on everything
can simply download, add your logo, and print it off.
listed above… Including the $5,000 spent on
equipment which you DO NOT NEED… And it
INITIAL MARKETING COSTS
would actually make this harder.
Range: $0-$3,000
There are a ton of options for marketing your business
and getting customers. Some of them cost money and
RECOMMENDED START UP COSTS:
some of them don’t cost money. For example, posting
on your Facebook feed, posting on Next Door, going $8 5 0 -$2 3 5 0
door to door, calling real estate agents, or personally
dropping flyers in a neighborhood… This is all free for Business Registration: $50
you to do yourself. Then there are paid options to get Insurance: $150
you customers right called “lead services”. Examples Marketing & Sales Materials: $150
of these are Painter Choice, Thumbtack, Craft Jack, Business Training: $500
etc… If you spend $3,000 on these lead services, Optional: Initial Marketing Costs: $1,500
you’ll get about 50-60 customer leads… More than
enough to start winning jobs!

BUSINESS TRAINING & BUSINESS COACH


Range: $500-$3,000
If you can afford to invest in my Painting Business Pro
program, do it. This will save you a lot of time and help
you avoid many other mistakes that I can’t fit into this
guide. For more information, contact us.

015
HOW FAST
CAN YOU
MAKE
PROFIT?
016
This is one of the most incredible opportunities in
the painting business… How fast you can start making
profit. (Hint: You can make profit very fast!)

But the answer really depends on HOW you start your


business…

There are a lot of ways you can screw up starting a


new business.

And I hear from people all the time who are asking for
help who have already started their business. And they
have already made a lot of mistakes…

So if you choose to start this business on your own


(without the guidance of Painting Business Pro)...

It’s hard to say how quickly you’ll turn a profit.

Best Case Scenario: You could turn a profit in the first


month.

Worst Case Scenario: You could run out of money and


not turn a profit at all. I’ve talked to a lot of people
who got themselves into this situation. It’s fixable… But
not ideal.

Now, if you follow the guidance of Painting Business


Pro, you should be able to make a profit in your first
month.

You can go through the entire training program in 1-2


weeks (some people have gone through the whole
thing in 3 days)...

Then follow the advice exactly…


And you should be able to make a profit in the first 30
days of your new business…

If you’re having any trouble, we have a 900+ person


Facebook group to support you…

Where you can ask questions, get help, and never be


“on your own”.

We can provide the guidance, the step by step plan,


and the proven system…

But you are the one who has to take the action.

What’s possible? Profit in the first month.

But there are no guarantees… Because YOU are the


determining factor.

017
LET‘S
CREATE
YOUR
BUSINESS
GOALS

018
GOAL SETTING EXAMPLE
With any start up business, you should plan on doing
all of the sales and production management yourself.
We call this “Phase 1”. Phase 2 is when you start
hiring other key players like a salesperson (estimator)
and project manager.

Your profit margin should look like this:


Subcontractor Expense = 50%
Marketing Expense = 5-10%
Miscellaneous = 5%
Profit = 30-40%

SAMPLE GOAL:
Setting your goals is critical. Without goals, you will just end up $50,000 PROFIT IN 6 MONTHS
wherever you end up. With the end in mind, the actions to take Assume: $3,000 job size, 33% profit margin, 25%
now will be obvious. The painting business (the way we have it closing rate
designed) is a beautiful business because of its simplicity. There
are not a lot of numbers or metrics to follow or to track that will Total Revenue Needed = $50,000/.33 = $150,000
lead you to your end goal.
Average job size (assumed) = $3,000
Start by considering what your real goal is. Is it to make as much Total Jobs to book = $150,000/$3,000 = 50 jobs
money as possible? Is it to work as little as possible? Is it to make
money on the side? What is your goal – the end result? What Closing Rate (assumed/targeted) = 25%
is it that you want to fulfill? Do you want to pay off $40,000 of Total Estimates to do = 50/.25 = 200 estimates
debt? Do you want to take an amazing trip around the world for
$10,000? Conversion Rate: Leads to Estimates (assumed/
targeted) = 70%
Most of your goals can be broken down into monetary goals. If Total Leads needed = 200/.7 = 285 leads
something that you are after is freedom of time, it is going to
take a little more work. Your access to having a painting business Note #1: If you are paying for leads through a lead
that earns you a nice living, and does not take a lot of time, is service, the average cost per lead is around $60.
to have sales people working for you and a production manager 285*$60 = $17,100, or about 11% marketing cost.
who manages your production. This will take time. Before you
can delegate the tasks of sales and production, you have to first Note #2: Conversion will vary depending on your
master them yourself. Start there! lead source. The main focus is the number of
estimates. Adjust marketing to meet your estimate
We want to create a model for you to be able to set your own numbers.
goals. First, we will go through an example, and then you can
create your own. Note #3: These assumptions are low. Most painting
contractors average job size is more than $3,000
and their sales rate is more than 25%. As your
job size gets larger and sales rates go up, your
marketing costs go down as a percentage. This
creates better profit %.

# WEEKS = 40
WEEKLY GOALS:
Leads: 285/40 = 7.1 leads per week
Estimates: 200/40 = 5 estimates per week
Jobs: 50/40 = 1.25 jobs booked per week
Revenue: $150,000/40 weeks = $3,750 per week
Rates: 25% closing rate, 70% conversion rate

019
NOW WHAT? Now that you have your goals, you need to create a structure to
fulfill those goals.

What are the actions needed to generate 7 leads per week?


1. Utilize Free Marketing Opportunities (Facebook, Your
Network, Next Door, Call Realtors, Drop Flyers)
2. Pay for Lead Services (Painter Choice, Craft Jack,
Thumbtack)

What are the actions needed to generate 5 estimates per


week? And 70% conversion?
1. Call your leads right away. The sooner the better.
2. Call your leads 2x per day for 3-4 days.
3. Call your leads from different phone numbers, and different
times during the day.

What are the actions needed to generate 1.5 jobs per week?
25% closing rate?
1. You’re going to need a professional and proven sales process.
This is covered in depth in the Painting Business Pro course.
2. Be GREAT with people – deliver what people are looking for
and what they want. Care about the customer.
3. Ask for the job. If they don‘t want to sign, ask why. What are
they looking for? Can you deliver on that?
4. When you are starting out – your profit margin is 30-40%,
so you can afford to negotiate a little bit with them early on.
DO NOT TRAIN YOUR SALES PEOPLE THIS WAY. However,
when you are doing estimates yourself, you can negotiate
down if their only concern is price. If that is the only way you
will book the job, you can wiggle down a couple hundred
dollars. Make sure you never estimate for less than a 30%
profit margin.

Now that you have all the actions required, put them into your
schedule, and execute.

020
NOW IT‘S YOUR TURN....
SET YOUR OWN GOALS BELOW:

How much I want to make: Time Frame:

# Weeks:

Calculate Revenue
Assume 40% profit margin. Calculate Total # of Jobs

0.4 $3000

(Profit) (Revenue)

= Revenue = Total # of Jobs

Calculate Closing Rate 25% Calculate Conversion Rate 70%

0.25 0.7

(Jobs) (Estimates)

= Total # Estimates = Total # Leads

WEEKLY: DIVIDE TOTALS


BY NUMBER OF WEEKS ACTION PLAN

Revenue Per Week:


Marketing Conversion Sales

Jobs Per Week:

Estimates Per Week:

Leads Per Week:

021
WHAT IF YOU DON‘T
HIT YOUR GOAL?

First, look at what number you didn‘t hit. If you didn‘t hit any
of them, start with marketing. Consult the Painting Business
Pro course, and the trouble shooting guide to increase your
results in that area the next week.

Keep tweaking and improving week over week until you can
consistently hit your goals. Once you can do that, you are
ready to hire people to do it for you.

Didn‘t hit marketing goal:


Consult marketing section and troubleshooting guide

Didn‘t hit # estimates goal:


Consult conversion and troubleshooting guide

Didn‘t hit # jobs/sales goal:


Consult sales section and troubleshooting guide

Below 70% conversion:


Consult troubleshooting guide

Below 25% closing rate:


Consult sales section and troubleshooting guide

022
T H E B I G PI CT U R E:

GROWING
YOUR
BUSINESS

023
Starting a painting business is great… But growing your business is
where the real opportunity is.

It’s not very difficult to build a $500,000 painting company that


earns $125,000+ in profit… If you have a good business plan!

There are 5 key areas of the business you need to know if you
want to build a successful company.

THE BIG 5
BUSINESS PLANNING & STRATEGY

ESTIMATING AND PRICING

MARKETING & GENERATING CUSTOMERS

SALES & WINNING JOBS

PROJECT MANAGEMENT &


DELIVERING ON PROMISES

024
BUSINESS PLANNING
AND STRATEGY
This is how you map out your financials, marketing
plan, sales plan, project management plan, and track
it on a weekly basis. You need to know your numbers
as a business person. This is how you determine what
actions to take next.

And your strategy is the big picture, step-by-step


process you will take to growing your business.

For example…
• Who is the first person you should hire in your
business?
• When should you hire that person?
• Who is the second person you should hire?
• When and how do you know you’re ready to hire
that person?
• What jobs are you going to target?
• Which jobs will you avoid and why?
• Will you use subcontractors or employees? Why?

These are a few of the questions that make up your


overall strategy… But there are more!

ESTIMATING AND PRICING


A big mistake painting contractors make is selling
with price… That’s not the point of your price. Your
price is not there to help you win jobs. Your price is
determined by your goals and how much money you
need to earn.

It’s your sales process that sells the job. Estimating


and pricing answers the question: “How do we need
to estimate and price so that we can operate a healthy
business?”

Your pricing model needs to include enough money


for painting the house, marketing the business,
insurance, warranties, hiring future employees, other
“overhead” expenses, and profit.

And you need a reliable and consistent way to:


1. Come up with prices initially
2. Adjust your pricing method to get better
over time

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MARKETING AND
GENERATING CUSTOMERS
There are endless strategies for marketing your
business and getting customers…

But all marketing is NOT created equal.

While there are a lot of very effective methods of


marketing your business, there are also a lot of “money
pits” that are a complete waste of money… They cost a
lot, but don’t deliver good results.

Some of these wasted marketing dollars include some


of the household names! (Hint: Angie’s List is one of
them)

You need to create a highly effective marketing


plan for your business that capitalizes on the good
marketing strategies while avoiding the bad ones.

SALES & WINNING JOBS


It’s your sales process that wins jobs.

It’s your sales process that beats competitors.

It’s your sales process that allows you to charge


a healthy price so you don’t have to haggle and
negotiate.

Sales is an incredibly important part of your business.

If you want to build a great business, this is a critical


aspect that many painting contractors overlook.

026
PROJECT MANAGEMENT &
DELIVERING ON PROMISES
Now that you have paying customers, how do you
deliver on your promises?

How do you find and recruit good painters or


subcontractors?

How do you manage your project flow from the


moment they sign the contract until the job is
completed?

How do you handle problems that may come up?

And in the bigger picture… How does your project


manager oversee 200+ projects per year while keeping
customers incredibly happy?

Because when you have a great business… It means


you are doing a lot of jobs.

And if you are doing a lot of jobs, you MUST do a great


job… Or your online reputation will quickly fall apart.

There are no shortcuts in this business.

CLICK HERE AND SIGN UP NOW FOR THE


PAINTING BUSINESS PRO BUSINESS COURSE

This is a simple business, but there is still a lot to learn. Which is


why we have put together the Painting Business Pro course…Our
course covers everything listed above, plus a bunch more.

If you’re going to start a painting company, following a proven


step by step program will be the best investment you ever make.

027
TESTIMONIALS

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TESTIMONIALS FROM FACEBOOK

ASA DAVIS LAUREN ENGLISH


I am relocating my business to a different state The ins and outs of the business are something
and I was looking for something that would teach Eric seems to knows better than most. I
me all the skills I need to take my business to the think he has the most relevant and down to
next level. Painting Business Pro has everything earth information and so willing to spread the
one needs to know. Thoroughly impressed with knowledge. Thank you so much for what you do
Eric’s teaching! and HOW you do it.

JAY SEEL ROBERT ALCORTA


I have implemented Erics system in both of What drew me to the course was how thorough
my other companies, employees are now Eric was on the free YouTube videos that I knew
subs, and they are getting paid more, I can it was a trustworthy program to buy. Everything
control my costs better, and .....I am working works! I‘ve made leaps following it and I plain on
on Marketing and Sales. My painting company buying the PBG Growth course and my Created
is up and running, and we are doing our first Life course! Currently, I‘m also in the Sales
job next week. The beauty of it, I spend less on Mastery course and it has strengthened me in
marketing because my drywall company is first sales, which I had no background in. Don‘t wait
in the door. Great job Eric, Keep up the to buy the course, your missing out on creating a
great work. great life for years to come!

SARAH DIX DAVE SWEENEY


Excellent course filled with all the essential info I have been a life long painter, but I finally
needed to start a painting business without prior decided to start my own business. Eric‘s course
experience. The videos are extremely helpful, is insanely, magnificently, beautifully, simply
and they are paired up with the downloadable amazing. This course is perfect for someone who
files that are talked about in each segment hasn‘t picked up a brush before or for someone
making everything easy to find and understand. who has been painting for years. At first I was
The course is laid out in a way that makes it concerned about spending money for the online
really easy to go back and just look up certain course, but let me assure you, there is really no
areas if you need more time to digest the info. cost. It is an investment. It‘s an investment that
Eric is also really personable, professional if you apply any of what Eric teaches you, it will
and extremely helpful. We have reached out a pay for itself within the first job. Don‘t hesitate.
couple of times with additional questions and What also is very awesome is the support. If
Eric responded same day. It‘s refreshing to do you‘re confused about something, just send Eric
business with a genuinely helpful person! an email. He will get back to you. He makes it
Thank you! very evident that he cares about your success in
business and in life

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