Class 3 - Chapter 3, and Google Analytics Walkthrough
Class 3 - Chapter 3, and Google Analytics Walkthrough
2-Chapter 3
3-Google Analytics Demo
4-Tech trends project outline
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Your Teams
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Chapter 3:
Analytics
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Chapter Objectives
• Select the best KPIs for a website of any variety.
• Determine the most needed improvements for an
eCommerce website based on an analysis of its
conversion funnel.
• Describe the strengths and weaknesses of the
various attribution methods.
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Audience Selection
Demand Generation
Demand Harvesting
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Demand Demand
Generation (top funnel) Harvesting (bottom funnel)
Display Affiliate
Ads Links
Email
Marketing
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Attribution
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Attribution
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Attribution
• Last Interaction measuring a conversion based on the last interaction
(or the last AD that the visitor sees)
• Linear --> each touchpoint in the conversion path gets credit for the
conversion
• Time Decay gives 50% credit to the LAST day and the other 50% is
spread throughout all other days before the last day
Source: https://support.google.com/google-ads/answer/6259715?hl=en 9
Attribution
Source: https://support.google.com/analytics/answer/1012040
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Attribution
• Let’s use the example of a visitor going through
the following conversion path:
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Question
• Sees a display ad -> Goes to website -> leaves website ->
• Sees a remarketing display ad ->Goes to website -> leaves website ->
• Sees a Facebook remarketing ad -> Goes to website -> leaves website -
>
• Decides now to search for “Ryders Eyewear” on Google.ca -> Goes to
website and buys.
• Last Interaction?
• Linear?
• First Interaction? 12
Last Month’s Numbers: Retail Site
Sessions 12,483 • Sessions - # of visitors
Conversions 512 per 30 minute block
Total Revenue $17,541.12
• Conversions (or your
objective such as
leads, emails, etc.)
• Conversion Rate =
conversions / sessions
• AOV = average order
value Revenue /
Conversion Rate 4.1% Conversions
AOV $34.26
• RPV = Revenue Per
Visitor Revenue /
RPV $1.41
sessions
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By Channel: Same Retail Site
Organic
Search Paid Search Direct Display Ads Referral Social Media Email
Sessions 2,129 1,430 141 2,238 4,140 792 1,613
Conversions 72 80 13 55 68 58 166
Total
Revenue $1,492.43 $5,181.94 $445.38 $2,204.44 $2,518.49 $1,377.44 $4,321.00
Organic
Search Paid Search Direct Display Ads Referral Social Media Email
Conversion 3.4% 5.6% 9.2% 2.5% 1.6% 7.3% 10.3%
Rate
AOV $20.73 $64.77 $34.26 $40.08 $37.04 $23.75 $26.03
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Last Month’s Numbers: Lead Gen Site
• In a lead gen site, the
conversion is a LEAD
Sessions 722 (not a sale on the
Leads 65 website). Salespeople
New Contracts 28 will follow-up on the
leads generated to
sign new contracts
Conversion Rate 9.0%
(sales)
Close Rate 43.1%
Organic Paid
Search Search Direct Display Ads Referral Social Media Email
Conversion 2.4% 7.6% 14.2% -- 1.3% -- --
Rate
Close Rate 0.0% 14.3% 55.3% -- 0.0% -- --
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Last Month’s Numbers: Media Site
Sessions 36,745
Page Views 94,232
Users 15,931
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Conversion Funnel
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Conversion Funnel
$23,464,220/72,498 =
Guest Info $323.65
103,471
5. What is the average revenue per night?
Confirmation $23,464,220/143,285 =
72,498 $163.76
Revenue:
$23,464,220
Room Nights: 143,285
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Conversion Funnel
Rates & Availability 6. If traffic increased by 10%, how much would revenue
2,347,892 increase? How many more conversions would result?
$23,464,220*1.1 = $25,810,642
Review Itinerary 72,498*.1 = 7,250
367,495
7. If you could increase the percentage of people who arrive
at the Review Itinerary step to 20%, what would the
Guest Info
conversion rate be? How would revenue be affected?
103,471
Review Itinerary: 2,347,892 *.2 = 469,578
Confirmation Guest Info: 469,578*.281 = 132,213
72,498 Confirmation: 132,213*.7007=92,637
Conversion rate: 92,637/2,347,892 = 3.95%
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Conversion Funnel
Rates & Availability 8. You believe that if the website offered a 10% discount,
2,347,892 the conversion rate would increase to 3.5%. Would this
increase or decrease revenue? Would it be profitable,
assuming a 50% gross profit margin on bookings (before
Review Itinerary
the 10% discount)?
367,495
Confirmation
72,498 Gross profit (before): 72,498*($323.65-$161.83) =
$11,732,110
Gross profit (after): 82,176*($291.26-$161.83) =
Revenue: $23,464,220
Room Nights: 143,285 $10,638,643
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Attendance
Break – 10 minutes
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Google Analytics & Google Ads
• Google Analytics (GA) is used to measure
statistics of your website
• # of visitors
• Conversion rate
• Locations of your visitors
• A lot of other useful information…
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Google Analytics Demo!
https://analytics.google.com/analytics/web/demo
Account
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Tech Trend Outline
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Friday – OLG -
1 X Individual mini-exercise for everyone to do.
Will count towards your participation mark
Find an article (less than 1 year old). This article must be about digital
marketing (an interesting trend).
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# 2-
Select date Jan. 1, 2022 to Dec. 31, 2022
20 Minutes!
(TBD)
# 3-
Tell me up to 10 interesting things you found out from looking at Google
Analytics.
# 4-
1 or 3 Teams (TBD) to present verbally – make sure everyone in your team
talks in the presentation (I don’t want 1 or 2 people to say everything)
#5-
Each team to email the PPT file to [email protected] 27
Next Class
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