0% found this document useful (0 votes)
41 views

WH Aos Rules

Aos rules
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
0% found this document useful (0 votes)
41 views

WH Aos Rules

Aos rules
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 7

®

CORE RULES
DESIGNERS COMMENTARY, AUGUST 2021 Q: If I have more than one general, and one is slain but the others are
The following commentary is intended to complement the still alive, do I still get to add 2 to the dice roll when I use the Heroic
Warhammer Age of Sigmar core rules. It is presented as a series of Leadership heroic action?
questions and answers; the questions are based on ones that have A: Yes.
been asked by players, and the answers are provided by the rules
writing team and explain how the rules are intended to be used. The
commentaries help provide a default setting for your games, but 1.5.1 MEASURING DISTANCES
players should always feel free to discuss the rules before a game and Q: Say I can set up a unit wholly within 6" of the edge of the battlefield
change things as they see fit if they both want to do so (changes like and there is an objective set up 12" from the edge of the battlefield.
this are usually referred to as ‘house rules’). Can I set up my unit so that it is within 6" of the objective?
A: Yes.
Our commentaries are updated regularly; when changes are made,
any changes from the previous version will be highlighted in
magenta. Where the date has a note, e.g. ‘Revision 2’, this means it 1.5.5 DICE ROLL MODIFIERS
has had a local update, only in that language, to clarify a translation Q: The maximum positive modifier to a save roll is +1. Say that I have
issue or other minor correction. a -3 Rend modifier and my opponent has a +3 modifier to their save
roll. Is the final modifier -2 (my Rend of -3, less their modifier capped
at +1), or is it 0 (my Rend modifier less their total save modifier)?
1.1 FACTIONS, BATTLETOMES AND A: It is 0. You add up all of the modifiers that apply to a roll (both for
BATTLEPACKS and against) to get the final modifier, and then apply any limits. See
Q: Where can I find a list of the factions I can choose from and the the example in the sidebar next to rule 1.5.5.
units that are in each faction?
A: Each faction has a set of Pitched Battle profiles that includes all of
the units that are part of that faction. You can find a set of Pitched 1.6 ABILITIES AND EFFECTS
Battle profiles in each Warhammer Age of Sigmar battletome. The Q: Some abilities say ‘you can’ do something, such as roll a dice.
General’s Handbook: Pitched Battle Profiles 2021 includes sets Which player decides?
of Pitched Battle profiles for every faction in Warhammer Age A: Any ability that says ‘you can’ is referring to the player that has the
of Sigmar. unit with the ability in their army or has the army that an allegiance
ability applies to.

1.2 MODELS Q: Many abilities occur ‘before’ or ‘after’ something happens. When
Q: Is it okay to use ‘proxy’ models to stand in for models that I do not this is the case, must I use the ability immediately before or after?
have but want to use in a game? For example, using a Slaughterpriest A: Yes, the word ‘before’ or ‘after’ is synonymous with ‘immediately
model to represent a Bloodsecrator, or using Stormcast Eternals before’ or ‘immediately after’.
models painted in the colours of the Hammers of Sigmar to represent
Stormcast Eternals from a different Stormhost? Q: When the word ‘any’ is used in the criteria for an ability, how
A: The use of proxy models is generally frowned upon, because doing many times is that ability applied when the criteria for the ability are
so can confuse the other players (and sometimes even yourself), and fulfilled? For example, if an ability said ‘Add 1 to hit rolls for models
because it spoils the spectacle and aesthetic of the game. Because of that are within 6" of any models with this ability’, would I add 1 to the
this, you can only use proxy models if you’ve gained your opponent’s hit rolls of a model that was within 6" of three models with the ability,
permission to do so before the game begins. or would I add 3 to the hit rolls?
A: The word ‘any’ is treated as being synonymous with ‘one or more’.
In your example, this means that 1 would be added to the hit rolls.
1.4 ARMIES
Q: When I pick a unit to be part of my army, can I wait until I set the Q: If several abilities are used simultaneously, can one cancel out the
unit up before I choose any weapon options or command models for effect of another?
the unit? A: It’s important to note that ability effects are never actually applied
A: No. You must decide which options you will take for the unit and ‘simultaneously’ in Warhammer Age of Sigmar. If two or more effects
if it is understrength or reinforced when you are picking your army. would be applied at the same time, they are instead applied one after
the other in the sequence described in section 1.6.2 of the core rules.
Q: When I choose my army, or (for example) pick a unit to receive This means that applying the effect of one ability could change the
something during a battle, can I keep any information secret from circumstances pertaining to abilities that follow it. For example, one
my opponent? ability effect might cause mortal wounds on a unit, while at the same
A: No. Unless specifically noted, all information required to play a time another ability effect might allow that unit to fight if it’s within
game is available to both players. 3" of the enemy. If the mortal wounds effect is applied first, then
the effect of the second ability can only be applied if the unit is still
Q: If I have more than one general, and each one allows different types within 3" of the enemy after all models slain by those mortal wounds
of units to count as Battleline, do all of those units count as Battleline have been removed from play.
units when I pick the rest of my army?
A: Yes.

1
Q: If two or more modifiers apply to a dice roll or characteristic, Q: If I have more than one general and they are all on the battlefield at
and some are positive and some negative, are they considered to be the start of my hero phase, do I receive 1 command point for each?
contradictory and therefore cancel out? A: No, you still only receive 1 command point.
A: No. Modifiers to dice rolls and modifiers to characteristic are
cumulative. Because of this, a dice roll or characteristic can be
affected by several abilities that apply different modifiers to it, both 6.1 USING COMMAND ABILITIES
positive and negative, and they will not be contradictory and can all Q: Some commands are received by all units within a certain range of
be used. the model issuing the command. Can such an order be received by a
unit that has already received a command in the same phase?
Q: If two different abilities double or halve a value, is the value A: No.
doubled or halved once or twice?
A: Twice.
USING COMMAND ABILITIES FROM
Q: Some abilities require a unit to be visible in order for them to be EARLIER BATTLETOMES
used. When this is the case, must the whole unit be visible? The command abilities included in battletomes written for
A: No, all that is required is for at least one model from the unit to earlier versions of Warhammer Age of Sigmar are written in
be visible. a different format to those used in more recent battletomes.
The following guidelines should make it clear how to use these
Q: Sometimes an ability will refer to ‘this model’ or ‘this unit’, and command abilities in battles using the latest version of the core
sometimes to ‘that model’ or ‘that unit’. Is there a difference? rules (see section 6.1 of the core rules).
A: Yes. When an ability says ‘this model’, ‘this unit’, it is referring to a
specific model or unit that has the ability, even if there is more than 1 • Most older command abilities list the unit that benefits from
unit with that ability in your army. When an ability says ‘that model’ the command and another unit that needs to be within a
or ‘that unit’, it is referring to a model or unit that was defined earlier certain distance of that unit. When this is the case, the unit
in the same ability. that benefits from the command is the unit that is receiving
the command, and the unit that the distance is measured
Q: Sometimes an ability will refer to a friendly model that is within a from is the unit that is issuing the command. In addition,
certain distance of ‘this model’ (or ‘the bearer’ or ‘this general’, etc.). older command abilities will specify the distance at which
When this is the case, do both models have to be from the same army? the command can be issued. When this is the case, use the
A: Yes. distance specified in the command ability rather than the
distance in section 6.1 of the core rules. For example, the Lord
Q: Sometimes an ability requires you to draw a straight line from a of the Blood Hunt command ability on the Wrath of Khorne
model, and everything under that line is affected by the ability. Is the Bloodthirster warscroll says:
model you draw the line from affected by the ability too?
A: No. ‘You can use this command ability at the start of the combat
phase. If you do so, pick 1 friendly Khorne Daemon unit
Q: Some abilities stipulate that you can pick a certain number of units wholly within 16" of a friendly model with this command
to be affected by the ability. When this is the case, can I pick the same ability. Until the end of the phase, you can re-roll hit rolls for
unit several times? attacks made by that unit.’
A: Yes, unless the ability specifically states otherwise.
This command is issued by a friendly unit with this command
Q: If an ability says it negates a wound, will it also negate a ability (you can pick which one if there is a choice), and can be
mortal wound? received by 1 friendly Khorne Daemon unit that is wholly
A: No, unless the ability specifically says it negates mortal wounds. within 16" of the unit issuing the command.
By the same token, an ability that negates only mortal wounds will
not negate wounds. • Some older command abilities specify that the effect of the
command ability applies to multiple units within a certain
Q: If an ability allows a unit to ‘fight’, does that mean it can pile in distance of the unit that is issuing the command (for example,
and attack or just attack? all friendly units with a specific keyword). When this is the
A: It can pile in and attack (core rules, 12.1.1). case, the command is both issued and received by the same
model, even though the effect of the command applies to
the specified units within the specified range. The model
3.1 RESERVES AND SUMMONED UNITS that issued the command cannot issue or receive another
Q: Are things like Fanatics or Assassins that hide inside another unit, command in that phase (because a model cannot issue more
or embarked Kharadron Overlords units, counted as being reserves? than 1 command in the same phase and a unit cannot receive
A: Only if the unit that they are ‘inside’ is in reserve. A reserve unit more than 1 command in the same phase), but could do so in a
is a unit that is set up in a location other than on the battlefield. future phase even if the effect of the command lasts for longer
Units that are on the battlefield are not reserves, even if the models than the phase in which the command was issued. The other
themselves are not set up. units that benefit from the effect of the command do not count
as having received the command (and so are not prevented
from receiving a different command in the same phase). For
6.0 COMMAND POINTS example, the Vigour of Undeath command ability on the
Q: Sometimes a model will receive command points only at the start Mannfred von Carstein warscroll says:
of the first battle round, or only once during a later round. Are these
command points lost at the end of the battle round? ‘You can use this command ability once per turn in your hero
A: Yes. phase. If you do so, add 1 to hit and wound rolls for friendly

2
Soulblight Gravelords units wholly within 12" of this 7.0 HERO PHASE
model until your next hero phase.’ Q: 7.0 states ‘In addition, in your hero phase, you can use friendly
Wizards to attempt to cast spells… and both to attempt to dispel
This command is issued and received by Mannfred von endless spells’ but 19.3.2 states that ‘At the start of the hero phase, each
Carstein in your hero phase, but until your next hero phase, player can attempt to dispel 1 Endless Spell…’ Can you clarify which
you can add 1 to hit and wound rolls for friendly Soulblight takes precedence?
Gravelords units while they are wholly within 12" of him. A: 19.3.2 takes precedence over 7.0.
Mannfred could not issue or receive another command in the
hero phase in which the command was issued, but he could do
so in future phases. Other units benefiting from the effect of 8.0 MOVEMENT PHASE
the command can still receive a command (for example, they Q: Some abilities allow a unit to be set up ‘at the end of the movement
could receive the All-out Defence command in the subsequent phase’. Can the unit make a move after it is set up in this way?
combat phase whilst also benefiting from Vigour of Undeath). A: No. Things that happen at the end of the phase take place after all
of that phase’s normal activities; in the case of the movement phase,
• Some older command abilities only affect a single unit, usually this means they occur after all moves have been made.
the one that issues the command, or do not affect any other
units at all. When this is the case, the command is assumed Q: Some abilities allow a unit to be set up ‘instead of making a normal
to have been issued and received by the unit specified in the move’. Does a unit set up with such an ability count as having moved?
command ability. For example, the Booming Roar command A: No, unless the ability specifically states otherwise.
ability from the Allherd subfaction in Battletome: Beasts of
Chaos says: Q: If a unit that receives the Redeploy command also receives the
Unleash Hell command in the same turn, can that unit shoot?
‘You can use this command ability at the start of your hero A: No.
phase if your general is on the battlefield. If you do so, you
receive 1 Primordial Call point.’ Q: Can a unit finish a move halfway or up the side of a wall on a
terrain feature?
This command ability is issued and received by your general A: Yes.
(if they are on the battlefield).
Q: Can a unit jump down from a terrain feature if the distance to the
• Some older command abilities that appear in the allegiance battlefield is greater than that unit’s Move characteristic?
abilities section of a battletome say that they can be used by A: No.
models ‘with this command ability’. When this is the case,
the command can only be issued by Heroes that are from
the faction (or subfaction) that is allowed to use the allegiance 9.0 MOVEMENT
abilities in question. They cannot be issued by unit champions. Q: If an ability halves the Move characteristic of a unit but doesn’t say
For example, the For the Brass Citadel command ability if you round up or down, are fractions retained?
from the Skullfiend Tribe subfaction in Battletome: Blades of A: Yes.
Khorne says:
Q: Sometimes an ability is used after a model moves. When this is
‘You can use this command ability at the start of the combat
 the case, assuming the model is allowed to make a move, if I decide to
phase. If you do so, pick 1 friendly model with this command leave it stationary, can I still use the ability?
ability. Until the end of that phase, you can re-roll hit and A: Yes. For the purposes of the Warhammer Age of Sigmar rules,
wound rolls for attacks made by friendly Skullfiend Tribe if a model is allowed to move, you can choose to ‘move’ it 0 inches.
Khorgorath units wholly within 10" of that model.’ However, if you do so, the unit cannot also benefit from an ability
that requires it to remain stationary.
This command can be issued by Skullfiend Tribe Heroes.
Q: Some abilities can be used ‘instead of a normal move’. Can I use
• Some older command abilities say either that they cannot be these abilities if the unit is not allowed to make a normal move (e.g.
used more than once per phase or that a unit cannot benefit when it is within 3" of an enemy unit)?
from them more than once. These instructions can be ignored A: No.
because the core rules no longer allow you to use the same
command ability more than once in the same phase.
9.3 TERRAIN
• Some older command abilities do not say when they can be Q: Why are all models allowed to climb all terrain features?
used. If this is the case, the command ability can be used in A: For simplicity and ease of play, the rules allow any model to climb
your hero phase. any terrain feature. If you wish, you can only allow models to move to
places that they could reach ‘in real life’, but it will require a certain
amount of common sense in order to make such a house rule work.

Q: If an ability allows a unit to receive a command without the Q: Can a terrain feature be climbed over multiple turns? Can a model
command being issued and without a command point being spent, run or charge up a terrain feature?
does the restriction that you cannot use the same command ability A: Yes. A model may need to spend several turns climbing an
more than once in the same phase still apply? especially high terrain feature (you will need to remember how far
A: Yes. it has climbed each turn and measure distances and visibility to or
from that model as if it were in that location).

3
Q: Can a model charge up or down a terrain feature? 14.0 WOUNDS
A: Yes. As noted above, for simplicity and ease of play, models are Q: Can an attack with a Damage characteristic of more than 1 slay
assumed to be able to climb up terrain features and can finish a move more than one model?
at any point when they do so. A: Yes, as long as all the models are from the same unit.

Q: Does a wound or mortal wound that is negated still count as having


9.4 FLYING been allocated to a model?
Q: If an ability or spell stops another unit from being able to fly, does A: No.
this stop that unit from being able to move at all?
A: No, it simply means that the Flying rules do not apply to it.
14.2.1 RETURNING SLAIN MODELS
Q: When you return a slain model to a unit, does the slain model have
10.0 SHOOTING PHASE to originally have come from the unit that it is returned to?
Q: If a unit that receives the Redeploy command also receives the A: Yes.
Unleash Hell command in the same turn, can that unit shoot?
A: No. Q: If a model is slain but later returned to its unit in the same turn,
does it count as being slain for battleshock tests? If it were slain,
Q: 10.0 states ‘you make shooting attacks with each model in the returned and slain again, would it count as being slain twice?
unit until you have shot with all the models you want to’ but 13.1 A: Yes to both questions.
states ‘you must pick the target unit (or units) for all of the attacks
that will be made by the models in the unit’. Can you clarify which Q: Do any restrictions that applied when I picked a unit for my army
takes precedence? still apply when I return a slain model to that unit?
A: 13.1 takes precedence over 10.0. A: No. For example, if a weapon can only be taken by 1 in every 5
models, you could return a slain model with that weapon option to a
unit that has fewer than 4 models in it.
12.2 PILE-IN
Q: Can the closest enemy unit at the start of a pile-in move be one that
is inaccessible or not visible to friendly models? 14.3 WARDS
A: Yes. The closest unit is measured purely by distance, not Q: Some rules allow you to transfer a wound allocated to one unit to
accessibility or visibility. a different unit. If both units have a ward, do I get to make a ward roll
for each one?
Q: If an ability allows a unit to pile in more than the standard 3", can A: No, you only make the ward roll for the unit that the wound is
the unit pile in and attack in the combat phase if it is more than 3" transferred to.
from the enemy?
A: No, unless the ability specifically states otherwise. Q: In section 14.3 of the core rules, ward rolls are made to negate a
wound or mortal wound before it is allocated to a model. However,
Q: Some abilities allow a unit to pile in and attack twice, while others many units in the game have abilities that trigger when a wound or
allow a unit to immediately pile in and attack a second time. What is mortal wound is allocated to a friendly model. Can I use abilities that
the difference? negate allocated wounds or mortal wounds after a ward roll?
A: The former allows you to pick the unit to fight twice over the A: Yes.
course of the combat phase, rather than only once, while the second
allows you to fight with the unit twice in immediate succession. The Q: Some older abilities give ‘bodyguard’ effects (such as ‘Guardians’ on
first version will therefore give your opponent a chance to pick a unit the Vanari Bladelords warscroll or ‘Selfless Protectors’ on the Saurus
to fight with before you can fight again with your unit, while the Guard warscroll) that allow damage that would be allocated to a
second version will not. friendly Hero to be allocated to a different friendly unit. Can I use
abilities like this before or after I make ward rolls for that Hero?
Q: What happens when a unit that has been split into two groups A: No. These ‘bodyguard’ abilities are used instead of making a
because of casualties piles in? ward roll for a wound or mortal wound that would be allocated to
A: A unit must finish any type of move as a single group, including that Hero.
pile-in moves. If this is impossible for any reason, no models from the
unit can move.
17.0 TERRAIN
Q: Can a model that has an ability that allows it to pile in and attack Q: Is a terrain feature considered to be part of the battlefield?
when it dies still use the ability if the unit it is part of has to fight at the A: Yes.
end of the combat phase?
A: Yes. Q: Some factions can add terrain features to their army after the
battle begins. Do the game terms faction terrain (17.0.3) and faction
Q: What happens if a model making a pile-in move is equally distant terrain feature (23.0) refer to all terrain features with faction terrain
from 2 enemy units at the start of the move? warscrolls, even those that are added to your army?
A: It must finish the pile-in move no further from each of those A: Yes.
enemy units than it was at the start of the move.
Q: If the answer to the above is yes, do these placement restrictions
apply to faction terrain features that are set up after the battle begins?
A: Yes.

4
17.2 GARRISONS Q: Some effects inflict damage that can only be allocated to Wizards.
Q: Can a unit that is set up once the battle is under way be set up as Can you explain how such damage is allocated to a unit that is not a
a garrison? Wizard but includes models that are Wizards, e.g. a High Warden
A: No. from a unit of Vanari Auralan Wardens?
A: The wounds are allocated to the unit as normal (core rules, 14.1).
Q: Can I set up a unit on a defensible terrain feature if it is not part of
the garrison?
A: No. 20.0 PRIESTS
Q: Can a Priest chant more than 1 prayer per turn?
Q: Sometimes it is impossible to set up 1 or more models from a unit. A: No, unless specifically stated otherwise.
For example, rule 17.2.3 states ‘If a defensible terrain feature is being
garrisoned when it is demolished… the surviving models from the Q: When a Priest attempts to summon an invocation, does that
garrison must then be set up within 6" of the terrain feature and more count toward the number of prayers that Priest can chant?
than 3" from all enemy units’. What happens if a model cannot be set A: Yes.
up within these restrictions?
A: The model is removed from play and does not count as slain.
21.0 MONSTERS
Q: 21.1 states ‘At the end of the charge phase, each player can carry
18.0 OBJECTIVES out 1 monstrous rampage from the table below with each friendly
Q: If I use a miniature as an objective marker, does it count as a Monster.’ If I have a unit that is a Monster that has more than
terrain piece? Can it block visibility or affect the movement of a unit? 1 model, can I use a monstrous rampage with each model from
A: No to all questions. An objective marker is simply an object that unit?
you use to mark the location of an objective on the battlefield. If A: Yes.
you want to move a model to the location occupied by an objective
marker, it is perfectly acceptable to move the marker to one side as
long as you measure distances to the objective using the marker’s 22.0 WARSCROLLS
original location. Q: When do I pick command models and weapon options for a unit?
A: When you add the unit to your army roster.
Q: Can I use an endless spell, invocation or faction terrain feature to
gain control of an objective? Q: Can the champion of the unit take special weapons, like
A: No. a Grandhammer?
A: Yes.
Q: 18.1 states ‘If an objective is placed on the border between two
territories, it is considered to be within both of them’. Does this mean Q: Some warscrolls have a weapon profile that says ‘See below’, but
these objectives are considered to be wholly within both of them? does not include an Attacks characteristic. When I use such a weapon,
A: No. how many attacks does it make?
A: These types of weapon make 1 attack, as described in the rules that
Q: 18.1.2 states ‘If a friendly unit has models within 6" of two or more appear below the weapon’s characteristics.
objectives, you must pick 1 of those objectives for the models from
that unit to contest’. Can I pick different models from the same unit to Q: Many warscrolls allow weapon options and other upgrades to be
contest different objectives? taken by ‘1 in every x’ models. For example, 1 in every 10 models in
A: No. a unit of Blood Warriors can replace the unit’s weapon option with a
Goreglaive. What happens if the unit has fewer than x models?
A: The weapon or upgrade cannot be taken. For example, a unit
19.0 WIZARDS of Blood Warriors with fewer than 10 models could not have
Q: If there is a spell that appears on two different warscrolls and has a Goreglaive.
exactly the same name, can I use them both in the same turn?
A: No. Q: When a characteristic is referenced (Bravery, for example), does
this mean the value on the warscroll, or the value on the warscroll
including any modifiers?
19.3 ENDLESS SPELLS A: The value including any modifiers.
Q: Do things that increase the range of a caster’s spells also apply to
the distance at which an endless spell can be set up from the caster? Q: Some abilities refer to the Move, Wounds, Save or Bravery
A: Yes. characteristic of a unit. What is this?
A: It is the Move, Wounds, Save or Bravery characteristic of the
models that make up the unit.
19.4 UNITS OF WIZARDS
Q: Some abilities cause a Wizard to suffer mortal wounds (for
example, when that Wizard casts a spell). What happens if that 22.6 KEYWORDS
Wizard is part of a unit that has more than 1 model? Q: Many rules state that a model ‘becomes a <Keyword>’ or ‘is a
A: The mortal wounds are allocated to the unit and do not have to be <Keyword>’, where <Keyword> is Monster, Hero, Wizard or
allocated to the model casting the spell. Priest. Do the models these rules apply to gain the relevant keyword
on their warscroll?
A: Yes. However, if a rule allows 1 model in a unit to be a
<Keyword>, only that model in the unit gains the relevant keyword.

5
23.0 FACTION TERRAIN WARSCROLLS 27.3 ENHANCEMENTS
Q: Some terrain features have ‘IMPASSABLE’ on their warscroll. Is this Q: If I am allowed to take an additional enhancement, can I take the
a scenery rule for the purposes of the ‘Demolish’ monstrous rampage? same enhancement more than once?
A: No. A: Yes, unless specifically noted otherwise.

Q: Some terrain features have ‘WYLDWOOD’ on their Q: If an enhancement allows a unit to fight an extra time, can that
warscroll. Is this a scenery rule for the purposes of the ‘Demolish’ unit’s mounts fight an extra time?
Monstrous Rampage? A: Yes. The enhancement allows the unit to fight an extra time; it
A: No. does not affect the attacks it makes.

Q: Can the Flaming Weapon spell from the Universal Spell Lore 27.5.3
25.0 PITCHED BATTLE PROFILES be used to pick a mount’s melee weapon?
Q: Some battletomes have a Minimum and Maximum Unit Size. How A: Yes.
do these work?
A: Use the Minimum Unit Size for the Unit Size. If the Maximum Q: Are Unique units allowed to take spells from the universal spell lore
Unit Size is 1, then it is considered to have ‘Single’ in the or prayers from the universal prayer scripture?
Notes column. A: No.

Q: The sidebar note that accompanies 25.3 UNIT SIZE mentions a


‘maximum unit size’ but this is not defined in the core rules. Please PATH TO GLORY (CORE BOOK)
can you clarify what ‘maximum unit size’ means? Q: In Path to Glory, if a unit on my order of battle includes a model
A: A unit’s ‘maximum size’ is the highest number of models that can that is a Wizard but the rest of the models in that unit are not
be taken in that unit. This will vary if a unit can be reinforced, and is Wizards (for example, the Steedmaster in a Vanari Dawnriders unit
determined on a case-by-case basis. of 3 or more models), does that unit count towards my order of battle
limit of Wizard units?
A: No.
26.0 BATTALIONS
Q: Can I take the same core battalion more than once in my army?
A: Yes. CONTEST OF GENERALS (CORE BOOK)
Q: If I add units to a Contest of Generals army after a battle has
started, can I do so in excess of any limits that apply? For example,
27.0 ALLEGIANCE ABILITIES could I summon extra Behemoths if my army already included the
Q: If I add units to my army after a battle has started, and my army maximum number it can take?
has an allegiance ability that adds a keyword to the units in the army, A: The limits on the number of Leaders, Artillery units and
is that keyword received by eligible units I add to my army after the Behemoths only apply when you are picking your army, so you can
battle has begun? By the same token, if an allegiance ability has a spell ignore these limits when you add these kinds of units to your army.
lore that grants a spell to Wizards in an army, do Wizards that I The limit on Unique units still applies, however (you can never have
add to the army that have the appropriate allegiance gain a spell? more than 1 of the same type of Unique unit in your army).
A: Yes to both questions.

ERRATA, AUGUST 2021


27.1 ALLIED UNITS The following errata correct errors in the Warhammer Age of Sigmar
Q: Can I include endless spells, invocations and faction terrain core rules. The errata are updated regularly; when changes are
features from an allied faction or a faction from which I can include made any changes from the previous version will be highlighted in
coalition in my army? magenta. Where the date has a note, e.g. ‘Revision 2’, this means it
A: No, unless specifically noted otherwise. has had a local update, only in that language, to clarify a translation
issue or other minor correction.
Q: Can I include endless spells, invocations and faction terrain
features in my army even if this is not specifically stated that I can do 15.0 – Battleshock Phase
so in the instructions for a battlepack? Add the following sidebar note:
A: Yes (core rules, 1.4.1). ‘Models removed from play as a result of their unit being split have
fled. Models that have fled are treated as having been slain for rules
Q: Can allied or coalition units be included in a core battalion? purposes, unless noted otherwise.’
A: Yes, unless specifically noted otherwise.
17.0.2 – Faction Terrain
Change the header to:
27.2.1 SUBFACTIONS ‘17.0.3 FACTION TERRAIN’
Q: Can I take more than one subfaction for the same army?
A: No. 27.3.3 – Artefacts of Power
Add:
‘An army cannot include duplicates of the same artefact of power.’

27.3 – Enhancements
Add the following rule:
‘27.3.8 MOUNT TRAITS
Some sets of allegiance abilities include mount traits. Each time you
take a mount trait enhancement, you can pick 1 mount trait and give
6
it to an eligible Hero in your army. A Hero cannot have more than
1 mount trait and an army cannot include duplicates of the same
mount trait.’

You might also like