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1 - Google Ads - Introduction

The document outlines the benefits of online advertising and Google Ads, emphasizing targeted reach, cost control, and success measurement. It explains Google Ads as a platform that includes various ad types such as search, display, shopping, video, and more, each with specific features and targeting options. Additionally, it covers PPC (pay-per-click) advertising, keyword match types, and strategies for selecting budgets and negative keywords.

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0% found this document useful (0 votes)
2 views25 pages

1 - Google Ads - Introduction

The document outlines the benefits of online advertising and Google Ads, emphasizing targeted reach, cost control, and success measurement. It explains Google Ads as a platform that includes various ad types such as search, display, shopping, video, and more, each with specific features and targeting options. Additionally, it covers PPC (pay-per-click) advertising, keyword match types, and strategies for selecting budgets and negative keywords.

Uploaded by

tnikhil0810
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
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Benefits of Online Advertising & Google Ads

 Online advertising allows you to show your ads to the people who are likely to
be interested in your products and services, while filtering out folks who aren't.

 And you can track whether those people clicked your ads.

 Online advertising also gives you the opportunity to reach potential customers as
they use multiple devices — desktops, laptops, tablets, and smart phones.

What is Google Ads?


Google Ads [formerly called as Google Adwords changed to Google Ads on 24 July
2018] is an advertising platform, which is made up of the

 Google Search Engine


 Search Partners
 Google Display Network
 Audiences
 Partner Websites
 Youtube Channels
 Mobile Apps & more

Advertisers can utilize Google Ads to drive targeted traffic to their website, which
can help increase conversions (fruitful activity for advertiser) such as leads and sales.

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Benefits of Google Ads
1. Target Your Ads

Targeting gives you the ability to show your ads to reach people with specific
interests — namely, people who are interested in you products and services —
and show them relevant ads.

 Keywords: Words or phrases relevant to your products and service.


 Ad location: Show your ads on search engines, commercial sites, or personal
sites.
 Age, location, and language: Choose the age, geographic location, and
language of your customers.
 Days, times, and frequency: Show your ads during certain hours or days of
the week, and determine how often your ads appear.
 Devices: Your ads can appear on all types of devices, and you can fine-tune
which devices your ads appear on and when.

2. Control Your Costs

Google Ads gives you control over how you spend your money. There’s no
minimum. And you can choose how much you spend per month, per day, and per
ad. You’ll only pay when someone clicks your ad.

3. Measure Your Success

With Google Ads, if someone clicked your ad, you’ll know. If they clicked your ad
and then did something valuable to your business -- purchased your product,
downloaded your app, or phoned in an order -- you can track that, too.

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What is PPC?
PPC stands for pay-per-click, a model of digital advertising where the advertiser pays
a fee each time one of their ads is clicked. Essentially, you’re paying for targeted
visits to your website (or landing page or app).

How PPC works in Google Ads ?

 When advertisers create an ad, they choose a set of keywords to target with that
ad and place a bid on each keyword.

 Google uses a set of formulas and an auction-style process to decide which


ads get to appear for any one search.

 If your ad is entered into the auction, it will first give you a Quality Score from
one to 10 based on your ad’s relevance to the keyword, your expected click-
through rate, and landing page quality.

 It will then analyse your Quality Score by your maximum bid (the most you’re
willing to pay for a click on that ad) to determine your Ad Rank.

 The ads with the highest Ad Rank scores are the ones that show.

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Google Ads – Account Structure

 The Campaign Level : Laying the Foundation


 The Ad Group Level : Building Your House
 Keyword Selection : Interior Decorating
 Ad Copy : Exterior Design
 Ad Extensions : Adding a Backyard Pool

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Difference between Web Browser vs Search Engine

5
Meta Ads vs Google Ads

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Types of Google Ads

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1. Search Ads

Location: Throughout Google Search results

Best for: Promoting webpages related to targeted keywords

Cost per lead: $$$

Key features:

 Cost-efficient
 Text-based
 Highly targeted using real-time search queries, which means
people see your ads at the exact moment they're looking for
that thing

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2. Display Ads

Location: On millions of webpages, apps, and Google properties in the


Display network

Best for: Building awareness to new markets across content formats

Cost per lead: $$

Key features:

 Visually oriented
 Covers 35 million+ apps and websites plus Google properties
 Follows users across advertising surfaces based on behavior

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3. Shopping Ads

Location: Throughout Google Shopping, SERP, Images, Maps, and search


partner results

Best for: Selling physical products included in Google Merchant Center

Cost per lead: $

Key features:

 Includes product images


 Auto-populates using Merchant Center data
 Appears across Google properties and search partner search results

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4. Video Ads

Location: Before, during, and after videos on YouTube; in YouTube search


feeds; on the YouTube home feed; and across the Google video partners
network

Best for: Promoting video content or reaching highly engaged users with
dynamic video ads

Cost per lead: $

Key features:

 Can be used to promote products via video or to promote existing


videos
 Available in several formats that play before, during, and after
YouTube videos
 Can also be displayed across third-party apps, games, and websites

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5. App Ads

Location: Play Store search results, Play Store suggestions, Google SERP,
YouTube feeds, Google Discover, and across the Google search partner
network

Best for: Promoting an existing app or a forthcoming app (Android only)

Cost per lead: $$$

Key features:

 Can be used to target new users and current users


 Displays across a wide range of advertising surfaces
 Campaigns target installs, engagement, or pre-registration (Android
only)

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6. Demand Gen Ads

Location: Google Discover feed, YouTube homepage and Watch Next


feeds, and Gmail Promotion and Social tabs

Best for: Targeting purchase-ready users with visually-oriented automated


ads

Cost per lead: $

Key features:

 Uses AI and machine learning to automatically tailor ads across


surfaces
 Appears on Discover, YouTube, and Gmail
 Includes multiple images

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7. Performance Max Ads

Location: All Google advertising channels

Best for: Creating channel-agnostic ads automatically optimized for


audiences across all Google advertising surfaces

Cost per lead: $$$$

Key features:

 Uses machine learning and AI to optimize ads automatically

 Automatically displays ads on all Google advertising channels

 Can identify new market segments based on goals and real user
behavior

 Performance Max automates ad campaigns across all Google Ads surfaces.

 Performance Max campaigns are holistic endeavors that combine advertiser


goals and assets with Google AI and machine learning models to optimize
ads on all of Google's advertising channels.

 Advertisers prioritize conversion goals like sales, leads, and website traffic and
designate an asset group, which includes images, videos, headlines, descriptions,
logos, and audience signals.

 By leveraging machine learning models and automation, Google can ensure


these ads land in front of the most qualified users over time.

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8. Smart Ads

Location: Google SERP, Maps, YouTube, Gmail, and search partner sites

Best for: Executing goal-centric campaigns that prioritize outcomes rather


than advertising channels

Cost per lead: $$$

Key features:

 Acts as centralized hubs for cross-channel advertising


 Prioritizes campaign-wide goals over channel-specific ads
 Targets keyword themes rather than specific keywords

 Smart ads are similar to Performance Max ads, but they're a little more limited.

 Rather than compiling all the singular ingredients of a whole ad campaign and
then churning out a multicourse meal of finished ads, Smart ads require you to
be a little more hands-on—while still incorporating useful automation features
and cross-channel posting.

 As you would with Search ads and Video ads, you'll need to start Smart ads
with original copy, images, video, audience preferences, keyword themes, and
bidding specs.

 Google then automatically displays those ads across search partner sites and
Google advertising surfaces like the SERP, Maps, YouTube, and Gmail.

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9. Hotel Ads

Hotel campaigns let you bid for hotel ads that appear when a traveler searches
for a hotel on Google Search, Google Maps, or YouTube.

These ads appear in a hotel booking module that can show photos of the hotel,
amenities, prices, and a link to book the hotel.

As ads are dynamic, you'll need to provide, the following:

 Hotel list (the hotels you want to advertise)


 Prices (an up-to-date set of prices for different itineraries)
 Landing pages (pages on your website that users arrive at when clicking
on your ads)

The above items are managed in a Hotel Center account, which you will link to
your Google Ads account in order to run hotel campaigns and manage your
budget, campaigns, ad groups, hotel groups, bids, and reporting.
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Bidding

With hotel campaigns, you can either bid when someone completes a booking or
when they click on your ad:

 Commission (per conversion): You pay only when a traveler books your
hotel, depending on the payment model you choose.

 Commission (per stay): You pay only when a traveler completes a stay they
booked through hotel ads. Available only to select partners.

 Max CPC bid (fixed or percent): You pay when a traveler clicks on your ad.
For the CPC bid strategies, you can adjust your bid by factors such as device
type, traveler location, length of stay, and other factors.

 Enhanced CPC (ECPC): Automates bid adjustments for a Max CPC bidding
strategy.

Ad Ranking

Ad ranking is determined by an auction in which Google considers partner bids


and the quality of the ad.

Factors that impact an ad's quality include but may not be limited to the
accuracy of the partner's prices and how well the ad addresses the user's need.

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Keywords Match Types
Keyword match type determines the scope of search queries that could trigger your
ads. Your choice affects the potential reach and relevance of your paid search results.

1. Broad Match : Queries must relate to your chosen keyword (highest reach,
lowest relevance)

2. Phrase Match : Queries must include your keyword’s meaning (medium


reach, medium relevance)

3. Exact Match : Queries must match your keyword’s meaning (lowest reach,
highest relevance)

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1. Broad Match = Related Queries

Broad match means your ads can show when searchers use related keywords (as
determined by Google’s AI).

It provides the widest reach of any keyword match type.

Here are some of the relevancy signals that broad match considers:

 Other keywords in your ad group


 The user’s previous searches
 The user’s location
 Your landing page content

Broad match is the default keyword match type on Google Ads. It doesn’t
require any special notation.

So, let’s say you bid on interior paint.

Your ad could show for the following queries:

 Lavender paint (because your ad group contains “purple paint”)


 Interior design (because it’s topically related to your keyword)
 Sherwin-Williams (because your landing page mentions this paint
brand)
 Buy interior paint (because the query contains your keyword’s
meaning)
 Paint for interior (because the query matches your keyword’s
meaning)

This means ads can reach more people who are potentially interested in your
products or services. But there is a risk of showing for less relevant queries.

Google recommends that you use broad match keywords in conjunction


with Smart Bidding.

Smart Bidding is an AI system that adjusts your bids based on expected


conversions or conversion value.

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2. Phrase Match = Same Intention

Phrase match means your ads can show when queries include the meaning of
your keyword (as determined by Google’s AI).

This keyword match type provides a middle ground between reach and
relevance.

To denote phrase match keywords in Google Ads, wrap your keyword in


quotation marks.

Let’s say you bid on “interior paint” (with the punctuation included).

Your ad could show for the following queries:

 Buy interior paint (because the query contains your keyword’s


meaning)
 Paint for living room (because the query contains your keyword’s
meaning)
 White wall paint (because the query contains your keyword’s meaning)
 Paint for interior (because the query matches your keyword’s meaning)

But shouldn’t appear for more tangential queries like “lavender paint” or “interior
design.”

Target Keywords = “moving services Delhi to Mumbai”

User Search Query = affordable moving services Delhi to Mumbai

Will not show ad = moving services Mumbai to Delhi

With phrase match, a user’s word order matters only when it changes the
intended meaning of your keyword.

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3. Exact Match = Same Meaning

Exact match means your ads can only show when queries have the same
meaning as your keyword.

To denote phrase match keywords in Google Ads, wrap your keyword in square
brackets.

Let’s say you bid on [interior paint].

Your ad could show for the following queries:

 Interior paint
 Paint for interior
 Room paint

But shouldn’t appear for more tangential queries like “paint for living room” or
“white wall paint.”

Exact match keywords are helpful if industry regulations dictate you can only
advertise on specific terms.

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How to select daily budget for running Google Ads ?

1. Find "Primary Keyword"

2. Google Keyword Planner

Balloon Decoration = Bid Range = 13/- to 32/-

Avg Bid/CPC = (32 + 13)/2 = 22/-

Per Click Avg CPC = 22/-

Conversion Rate = 2% to 4% = Low (Need Improvement)

= More than 5% to 10% = Top 25% Advertiser

= More than 11% = Top 10% Advertiser

Ideal Conversion Rate = Min 5%

5 Leads = 100 Click

1 Lead = 20 Clicks Min

Rs. 22/- (Avg. CPC) x 20 Clicks = 440/-(Cost of 1 Lead)

5 Leads = 5 x 440/- = 2200/-[Daily Budget]


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Negative Keywords
Negative keywords let you exclude search terms from your campaigns and help
you focus on only the keywords that matter to your customers.

 Negative Broad Match


 Ad won't show if the search contains all your negative keyword terms,
even if the terms are in a different order.
 Your ad may still show if the search contains only some of your
keyword terms.

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 Negative Phrase Match

 Ad won't show if the search contains the exact keyword terms in the
same order.
 The search may include additional words, but the ad won't show as long
as all the keyword terms are included in the search in the same order.

 Negative Exact Match

 Ad won't show if the search contains the exact keyword terms, in the same
order, without extra words.
 Ad may still show if the search contains the keyword terms with additional
words.

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