0% found this document useful (0 votes)
46 views42 pages

Chess Refresher Course

The document outlines various chess situations and the corresponding rulings according to the rules of chess. It covers scenarios such as pawn promotion, castling, illegal moves, and draw claims, providing multiple-choice questions and clarifications based on official articles. Each situation emphasizes the importance of following the touch-move rule and the specific conditions under which certain actions are deemed legal or illegal.

Uploaded by

ivanjoy.aguilar
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PPTX, PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
0% found this document useful (0 votes)
46 views42 pages

Chess Refresher Course

The document outlines various chess situations and the corresponding rulings according to the rules of chess. It covers scenarios such as pawn promotion, castling, illegal moves, and draw claims, providing multiple-choice questions and clarifications based on official articles. Each situation emphasizes the importance of following the touch-move rule and the specific conditions under which certain actions are deemed legal or illegal.

Uploaded by

ivanjoy.aguilar
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PPTX, PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 42

Chess

CHESS
REFRESHE
R COURSE
S I T UAT I O N A L P R O B L E M S
Chess

1. White pushes a pawn to the


eighth rank and immediately
presses the clock without
replacing it with another piece.
What should the arbiter decide?
a) The pawn is automatically a queen
b) The move is incomplete/illegal until a piece is chosen
c) Arbiter chooses the promoted piece
d) Opponent decides the piece
Chess

1. White pushes a pawn to the


eighth rank and immediately
presses the clock without
replacing it with another piece.
What should the arbiter decide?
a) The pawn is automatically a queen
b) The move is incomplete/illegal until a piece is chosen
c) Arbiter chooses the promoted piece
d) Opponent decides the piece
Promotion is only complete when the new piece touches the
promotion square.
Article 3.7.3.3–3.7.3.5
Chess

2. Black tries to castle queenside,


but the rook passes over a square
controlled by an opponent’s
bishop. What is the correct
ruling?
a) The castling is legal
b) The king must castle anyway
c) The castling is illegal
d) The arbiter decides by fairness
Chess

2. Black tries to castle queenside,


but the rook passes over a square
controlled by an opponent’s
bishop. What is the correct
ruling?
a) The castling is legal
b) The king must castle anyway
c) The castling is illegal
d) The arbiter decides by fairness
Castling cannot be done if the king passes through or lands on an
attacked square.
Article 3.8.2.2.1
Chess

3. White attempts to castle but


moves the rook first, then the
king. What should happen?
a) Castling is still valid
b) The rook move stands, king must move later
c) The attempt is illegal; touch-move applies to rook
d) Arbiter gives warning only
Chess

3. White attempts to castle but


moves the rook first, then the
king. What should happen?
a) Castling is still valid
b) The rook move stands, king must move later
c) The attempt is illegal; touch-move applies to rook
d) Arbiter gives warning only
If rook is touched first, rook must move if possible; castling
cannot be forced.
Article 4.4.2 + 4.3.1
Chess

4. A knight is moved diagonally


like a bishop, and the clock is
pressed. What is the ruling?
a) Move stands
b) Illegal move must be corrected
c) Opponent may choose to accept
d) Game ends immediately
Chess

4. A knight is moved diagonally


like a bishop, and the clock is
pressed. What is the ruling?
a) Move stands
b) Illegal move must be corrected
c) Opponent may choose to accept
d) Game ends immediately
A knight cannot move diagonally.
Article 3.6 & 3.10.2
Chess

5. A pawn stands on e5. Black


moves a pawn from d7 to d5, and
White immediately captures en
passant with exd6. Is it legal?
a) Yes, en passant is valid
b) No, pawn must remain on e5
c) Only possible if agreed before
d) Arbiter decides
Chess

5. A pawn stands on e5. Black


moves a pawn from d7 to d5, and
White immediately captures en
passant with exd6. Is it legal?
a) Yes, en passant is valid
b) No, pawn must remain on e5
c) Only possible if agreed before
d) Arbiter decides
En passant capture must occur immediately after the opposing
pawn advances two squares.
Article 3.7.3.1–3.7.3.2
Chess

6. A player promotes a pawn by


placing an upside-down rook and
calls it a queen. What is the
ruling?
a) It counts as a rook
b) It counts as a queen
c) Arbiter decides piece identity
d) Opponent chooses
Chess

6. A player promotes a pawn by


placing an upside-down rook and
calls it a queen. What is the
ruling?
a) It counts as a rook
b) It counts as a queen
c) Arbiter decides piece identity
d) Opponent chooses
An upside-down rook is still a rook, regardless of what the player
declares.
Article 4.6 (arbiter clarification in Manual)
Chess

7. Both kings are simultaneously


in check after a player’s move.
What does this indicate?
a) Brilliant tactic, play continues
b) Illegal position
c) Double-check, still legal
d) Draw by default
Chess

7. Both kings are simultaneously


in check after a player’s move.
What does this indicate?
a) Brilliant tactic, play continues
b) Illegal position
c) Double-check, still legal
d) Draw by default
Both kings cannot be in check simultaneously.
Article 3.10.3 (illegal positions)
Chess

8. A player moves a bishop onto


the same colored square as their
other bishop, but all pawns are
still on the board. What does this
mean?
a) Normal play continues
b) Illegal position must be corrected
c) Arbiter awards loss
d) Arbiter awards draw
Chess

8. A player moves a bishop onto


the same colored square as their
other bishop, but all pawns are
still on the board. What does this
mean?
a) Normal play continues
b) Illegal position must be corrected
c) Arbiter awards loss
d) Arbiter awards draw
Two bishops on the same color with all pawns still present =
illegal position.
Article 3.10.3 (example)
Chess

9. A player touches their queen


and then their rook, intending to
castle queenside. What is the
ruling?
a) Must move the queen
b) Castling is valid
c) Must move the rook
d) Arbiter penalizes
Chess

9. A player touches their queen


and then their rook, intending to
castle queenside. What is the
ruling?
a) Must move the queen
b) Castling is valid
c) Must move the rook
d) Arbiter penalizes
If own piece is touched first, it must be moved if legal.
Article 4.3.1
Chess

10. A player touches their king


and rook simultaneously while
intending to castle kingside. What
must happen?
a) Castling on that side is mandatory if legal
b) King must move only
c) Rook must move only
d) Arbiter chooses
Chess

10. A player touches their king


and rook simultaneously while
intending to castle kingside. What
must happen?
a) Castling on that side is mandatory if legal
b) King must move only
c) Rook must move only
d) Arbiter chooses
Touching king and rook together means castling must be done if
legal.
Article 4.4.1
Chess

11. A player touches an


opponent’s piece first, then their
own piece. What applies?
a) Must capture opponent’s piece if legal
b) Free to move their own piece
c) Arbiter cancels move
d) Must move another piece
Chess

11. A player touches an


opponent’s piece first, then their
own piece. What applies?
a) Must capture opponent’s piece if legal
b) Free to move their own piece
c) Arbiter cancels move
d) Must move another piece
If opponent’s piece is touched first, capture must be made if
possible.
Article 4.3.2
Chess

12. A player adjusts a piece


without saying “j’adoube.” The
opponent claims touch-move.
What is the arbiter’s ruling?
a) Adjustment allowed silently
b) Touch-move rule applies
c) Arbiter gives warning only
d) Opponent chooses
Chess

12. A player adjusts a piece


without saying “j’adoube.” The
opponent claims touch-move.
What is the arbiter’s ruling?
a) Adjustment allowed silently
b) Touch-move rule applies
c) Arbiter gives warning only
d) Opponent chooses
Adjustment requires prior announcement (“j’adoube”). Otherwise,
touch-move applies.
Article 4.2.1–4.2.2
Chess

13. A player places a promoted


piece but before pressing the
clock changes their mind to
another piece. Is this allowed?
a) No, first choice stands
b) Yes, until the clock is pressed
c) Opponent decides
d) Arbiter penalizes
Chess

13. A player places a promoted


piece but before pressing the
clock changes their mind to
another piece. Is this allowed?
a) No, first choice stands
b) Yes, until the clock is pressed
c) Opponent decides
d) Arbiter penalizes
Promotion is finalized once the chosen piece touches the
promotion square.
Article 4.4.4 & 4.7.3
Chess

14. A checkmate occurs, but the


losing side makes a move before
anyone notices. What happens?
a) Checkmate stands, game ends
b) Move cancels checkmate
c) Game drawn
d) Arbiter resets
Chess

14. A checkmate occurs, but the


losing side makes a move before
anyone notices. What happens?
a) Checkmate stands, game ends
b) Move cancels checkmate
c) Game drawn
d) Arbiter resets
Once a legal checkmate occurs, the game ends immediately.
Article 5.1.1
Chess

15. A player resigns by tipping


over their king. What is the
result?
a) Arbiter ignores resignation
b) Game is drawn
c) Game is lost by resigning player
d) Arbiter must confirm verbally
Chess

15. A player resigns by tipping


over their king. What is the
result?
a) Arbiter ignores resignation
b) Game is drawn
c) Game is lost by resigning player
d) Arbiter must confirm verbally
A player who resigns (by gesture or words) loses the game.
Article 5.1.2
Chess

16. Both players agree to a draw


after one move each. What is the
ruling?
a) Draw valid
b) Draw invalid (minimum moves not met if rules
prohibit)
c) Arbiter must approve
d) Opponent’s federation decides
Chess

16. Both players agree to a draw


after one move each. What is the
ruling?
a) Draw valid
b) Draw invalid (minimum moves not met if rules
prohibit)
c) Arbiter must approve
d) Opponent’s federation decides
Agreement is only valid if the competition regulations allow it.
Article 5.2.3 + Article 9.1.1 (draw restrictions)
Chess

17. After 6 moves, players


discover they started with
reversed colors. What should the
arbiter do?
a) Continue game as is
b) Restart with correct colors
c) Award win to White
d) Declare draw
Chess

17. After 6 moves, players


discover they started with
reversed colors. What should the
arbiter do?
a) Continue game as is
b) Restart with correct colors
c) Award win to White
d) Declare draw

If fewer than 10 moves each, restart. If 10 or more, continue.


Article 7.3
Chess

18. A piece falls off the board due


to accidental knock and position
is unclear. What should the
arbiter do?
a) Let players agree
b) Reconstruct using scoresheets
c) Declare draw
d) Remove the piece permanently
Chess

18. A piece falls off the board due


to accidental knock and position
is unclear. What should the
arbiter do?
a) Let players agree
b) Reconstruct using scoresheets
c) Declare draw
d) Remove the piece permanently

Arbiter restores to the last correct position.


Article 7.1 & 7.4.2
Chess

19. A player claims threefold


repetition but cannot prove it on
the scoresheet. What happens?
a) Claim invalid
b) Claim accepted
c) Game drawn anyway
d) Arbiter decides by fairness
Chess

19. A player claims threefold


repetition but cannot prove it on
the scoresheet. What happens?
a) Claim invalid
b) Claim accepted
c) Game drawn anyway
d) Arbiter decides by fairness

Threefold repetition requires proper claim with scoresheet proof.


Article 9.2.1–9.2.2
Chess

20. A player claims a draw after


50 consecutive moves without a
pawn move or capture. What is
the ruling?
a) Draw if properly claimed
b) Claim invalid, game continues
c) Opponent decides
d) Arbiter awards win
Chess

20. A player claims a draw after


50 consecutive moves without a
pawn move or capture. What is
the ruling?
a) Draw if properly claimed
b) Claim invalid, game continues
c) Opponent decides
d) Arbiter awards win

Fifty-move rule applies only upon correct claim by a player.


Article 9.3.1
Chess

THAN YOU
K

You might also like